Wolfson Foundation Intercalated Award Winners

Published on

Three Year 4 student doctors, Sumirat Keshwara; Natasha Varshney and James Baker, were joined by Professor Scott and Executive Pro-Vice Chancellor Professor Louise Kenny this week to celebrate each winning a prestigious Wolfson Foundation Intercalated Award.

The Award is administered by the Royal College of Physicians for outstanding undergraduate students at selected Medical Schools, who are likely to pursue a medical research career.

Nominations were received and assessed by a panel comprising of Lord Turnberg MD FRCP (chair), Professor Victor Hoffbrand MD FRCP and Professor Michael Baum MBChB FRCS. In deciding the award the assessors took into account the calibre of the student and the merit of the proposed project.

These awards will enable these students to take a one year academic degree course intercalated to explore research in their field of interest.



James Baker

Prof Chris Probert, Gastro Biomedical Sciences and Translation Medicine MRes

Natasha Varshney

Dr Victoria Kearns (primary supervisor), Dr Alys Davies, Master of Research (MRes) in Clinical Sciences.

Sumirat Keshwara

Mr  Michael  Jenkinson,  Reader at  the  University  of  Liverpool’s  Institute  of  Translational  Medicine, Honorary Consultant Neurosurgeon at The Walton Centre NHS Foundation Trust MPhil

To be recognised at a national level is a fantastic achievement and the School would like to congratulate our students and wish them every success in their intercalated year.