Hardwick Group


Group Leader

A photo of Laurence Hardwick

Professor Laurence Hardwick


Visit Professor Laurence Hardwick's profile.


Project Managers

A photo of Glenda Wall

Dr Glenda Wall 


All Solid State Batteries with Li and Na Anodes (SOLBAT) Liverpool Project Manager, The Faraday Institution.

Post-Doctoral Researchers


 a photo of Filipe Braga

Dr Filipe Braga Nogueira


Application of graphenic materials as cathodes in lithium-oxygen and sodium-oxygen battery systems.

 a photo of David Costa Milan

Dr David Costa-Milan


Kerr Gated Raman for the Characterisation of the Solid Electrolyte Interphase Layer on Lithium Battery Electrode

 a photo of Jungwoo Lim

Dr Jungwood Lim


Next-generation cathode materials and their characterization

a photo of Alex Neale

Dr Alex Neale  


Electrochemical and spectroscopic investigations for electrolyte development for lithium-metal and lithium-oxygen batteries

 a photo of Marianna Pateli

Dr Marianna Pateli


Battery electrochemistry and spectroscopy evaluation 

 a photo of Laura Whalley

Dr Laura Whalley


Surface spectroscopy of battery electrodes

 a photo of Yundong Zhou

Dr Yundong Zhou 


In situ spectroscopic study of the cathode-solid electrolyte interfaces within all-solid state batteries

PhD Students

a photo of Julia Fernandez Vidal

Miss Julia Fernandez Vidal


Electrochemical and catalytic reaction studies at the molecular level interface using SHINERS

a photo of Hui Gao

Dr Hui Gazo


Exploration of organic materials for lithium-ion batteries

 A photograph of Rory Powell

 Mr Rory Powell


 Vapour deposited coatings for long cycle-life Li-ion positive electrodes


a photo of Yi-Ting Lu

Mr Yi-Ting Lu


Spinel oxide electrocatalysts for lithium-air battery electrodes

a photo of William Thomas

Mr William Thomas


Designing new cathode materials for Li-ion batteries

a photo of Lucy Waters

Miss Lucy Walters


In situ surface enhanced infrared spectroscopy at electrochemical interfaces

 a photo of Matthew Wright

Mr Matt Wright


Design and synthesis of new multivalent cathode materials

 a photo of Chih-Han Yen

Chih-Han Yen


Investigating dendrite suppression in polymer electrolytes in lithium metal batteries

Visting PhD Student

a photo of Hartim Amli

Mr Hatem Amli


Silicon anodes for next generation high capacity lithium-ion batteries                                                            

 MChem Project Student

a photo of Amy Colleran

Ms Amy Colleran


Investigating the characteristics of SHINERS in electrochemical reactions in the metal-oxygen batteries

A photograph of Matthew Quarrell

Mr Matthew Quarrell


Post-mortem analysis of cycled Li-ion battery electrodes





Dr Jyoti Gupta (Lecturer, Liverpool John Moores University, UK)

Dr Tom Galloway (Junior Developer, Silverchip, Manchester, UK)

Dr Ana Gomez (Visiting Scientist, Aeronautics Institute of Technology, Brazil)

Dr José Coca Clemente (Post-Doctoral Researcher, CIC Energiguine, Spain)

Mr Ruowei Yi (Visiting Scientist)

Mr Adrian Grzedowski (MChem Project Student)

Dr Laura Cabo-Fernandez (Project Manager, Imperial College, London)

Dr Iain Aldous (Lecturer, University of Swansea, UK)

Dr Jianli Zou (Post-Doctoral Researcher, University of Cambridge, UK)

Dr Arturas Adomkevicius (Post-Doctoral Researcher, National Physics Laboratory, UK)

Dr Tzu-Ho Wu  (Assistant Professor, NYUST, Taiwan)

Dr Vivek Padmanabhan (Post-Doctoral Researcher, University of Southampton, UK)

Dr Nick Drewett (Post-Doctoral Researcher, CIC Energiguine, Spain)

Dr Christopher Sole (Project Manager, Bristol City Council, UK)

Dr Petar Radjenovic

Mrs Maryam Iftekhar (Visiting Scientist)‌

Ms Hui Wang (Visiting Scientist)

Mr Jokin Rikarte (Visiting Scientist)

Mrs Monazza Serwar (Visiting Scientist)

Dr David Hesp (Visiting Scientist)

Mr Ruowei Yi (XJTLU PhD Student)

Mr Michael Potts (Project Student)

Mr Jack Smith (MChem Project Student)

Mr Dillon McGurty (MChem Project Student)

Ms Sabine Gruber (Diploma Student)

Mr Matthew Michie

Mr Oliver Rogan