Contact us

Legal & Governance

The Department of Legal & Governance comprises Legal, Governance & Insurance Services including Research Contracts, Occupational Health, Radiation Protection and the Safety Advisor's Office.  For details of the teams within our department please download our Organisation Chart.

Contacts

Kevan Ryan
University Secretary & Director of Legal & Governance
0151 794 2110 
kevan.ryan@liverpool.ac.uk

Zoey Armitage
Office Manager/Personal Assistant to Kevan Ryan
0151 795 0523
Zoey.Armitage@liverpool.ac.uk 

Legal & Insurance Services

The University provides in-house legal advice and should be consulted when advice from external solicitors is required.  The Legal & Insurance Services Team are based on the 2nd Floor, The Foundation Building, 765 Brownlow Hill, Liverpool L69 7ZX

Foundation Building access information

James Fox
Assistant Director of Legal & Insurance Services
0151 795 0654 
j.f.fox@liverpool.ac.uk

Stephen Davenport
Property Solicitor 
0151 795 0655
stephen.davenport@liverpool.ac.uk

Dei Harries
Employment Solicitor
0151 794 2010
D.Harries@liverpool.ac.uk

Daniel Howarth
Data Protection Officer/Freedom of Information Manager
0151 794 2148
daniel.howarth@liverpool.ac.uk

Kirsty Rothwell
Freedom of Information Officer/Data Protection Co-ordinator
0151 794 5819
FOI requests: foi@liverpool.ac.uk 
kirsty.rothwell@liverpool.ac.uk

Insurance

Mark Neill 
Insurance Manager 
0151 794 2138 
mark.neill@liverpool.ac.uk

Research Contracts Team

The Research Contracts Team are responsible for all research and research related contracts, and are situated in the Waterhouse Building, 3 Brownlow Street, Liverpool, L69 3GL. 

Waterhouse Building access information

David McVey 
Head of Research Contracts  
0151 794 8792 
david.mcvey@liverpool.ac.uk

Stephanie Laidlaw 
Research Contracts Officer 
0151 794 8052 
slaidlaw@liverpool.ac.uk

Barrie Owens
Research Contracts Officer
0151 794 9778
bowens@liverpool.ac.uk

Hannah Gavigan
Research Contracts Officer
0151 795 5257
hannah.gavigan@liverpool.ac.uk

Christopher Walters
Research Contracts Assistant
0151 794 9482
c.walters@liverpool.ac.uk

Sarah Doogan
Research Contracts Assistant
0151 794 9802
sdoogan@liverpool.ac.uk 

Sophie Boardman
Administrative Assistant
0151 794 9427
sophie.boardman@liverpool.ac.uk

Health and Safety  The Safety Adviser's Office is responsible for monitoring and advising on health and safety across the University.  We co-ordinate safety matters throughout the University, inspect and advise on aspects of health and safety and provide training.  The service is based at 24 Oxford Street, Liverpool L69 7WX

Radiation Protection The Radiation Protection Office provides advice on the installation and use of X-ray equipment, lasers, UV, microwave and radio-frequency devices and on the hazards of working with radioactive substances.  The service is based at Oliver Lodge Labs, Oxford Street, Liverpool L69 7ZE

Occupational Health The University's Occupational Health Service is committed to safeguarding the health, safety and well-being of all staff and students.  We provide services to protect health of staff and students at work, in training and in study, to assess fitness for work, training and study and to help manage health issues effectively.  Staff and students can expect a service that is courteous and professional.  The service is based at 28 Oxford Street, Liverpool L69 7WX