Physics

Head of Department

Welsch, Prof Carsten Head of Department  0151 794 3364 C.P.Welsch@liverpool.ac.uk 
Reid, Mrs Angie Secretary to Head of Department/Management Services Administrator  0151 794 3358 A.J.Reid@liverpool.ac.uk 

Professors

Bowcock, Prof Themis Professor  0151 794 3360 Themis.Bowcock@liverpool.ac.uk 
Chartier, Prof Marielle Professor  0151 794 6775 M.Chartier@liverpool.ac.uk 
Durose, Prof Ken Professor  0151 795 9048 Ken.Durose@liverpool.ac.uk 
Greenshaw, Prof Tim Professor  0151 794 3383 Green@liverpool.ac.uk 
Herzberg, Prof Rolf-Dietmar Professor  0151 794 3382 R.Herzberg@liverpool.ac.uk 
Klein, Prof Max Professor  0151 794 3353 Max.Klein@liverpool.ac.uk 
Lucas, Prof Christopher Professor  0151 794 3361 Clucas@liverpool.ac.uk 
McGrath, Prof Ronan Professor, Head of the School of Physical Sciences  0151 795 8142 R.Mcgrath@liverpool.ac.uk 
Nolan, Prof Paul Professor  0151 794 3377 P.J.Nolan@liverpool.ac.uk 
Page, Prof Robert Professor  0151 794 3714 R.D.Page@liverpool.ac.uk 
Shears, Prof Tara Professor  0151 795 7348 Tara.Shears@liverpool.ac.uk 
Touramanis, Prof Christos Professor  0151 794 6970 C.Touramanis@liverpool.ac.uk 
Weightman, Prof Peter Professor  0151 794 3871 Peterw@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wolski, Prof Andrzej Professor  0151 794 2765 A.Wolski@liverpool.ac.uk 

Readers

Andreopoulos, Dr Constantinos Reader  0151 794 3201 C.Andreopoulos@liverpool.ac.uk 
Boston, Dr Andrew Reader  0151 794 6776 A.J.Boston@liverpool.ac.uk 
Dhanak, Dr Vin Reader  0151 795 0534 V.R.Dhanak@liverpool.ac.uk 
D'Onofrio, Dr Monica Reader  0151 794 2137 Monica.Donofrio@liverpool.ac.uk 
Joss, Dr David Reader  0151 794 3375 David.Joss@liverpool.ac.uk 
Klein, Dr Uta Reader  0151 794 3357 Uta.Klein@liverpool.ac.uk 
McCauley, Dr Neil Reader  0151 794 3354 N.McCauley@liverpool.ac.uk 
Mehta, Dr Andrew Reader  0151 794 3395 Mehta@liverpool.ac.uk 
Rose, Dr Joachim Reader  0151 794 3378 Joachim.Rose@liverpool.ac.uk 
Veal, Dr Tim Reader  0151 794 3872 T.Veal@liverpool.ac.uk 
Vossebeld, Dr Joost Reader  0151 794 3386 Joost.Vossebeld@liverpool.ac.uk 

Senior Lecturers

Boston, Dr Helen Senior Lecturer  0151 794 3347 H.C.Boston@liverpool.ac.uk 
Burdin, Dr Sergey Senior Lecturer  0151 794 3439 S.Burdin@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hutchcroft, Dr David Senior Lecturer  0151 794 3416 Dhcroft@liverpool.ac.uk 
Paul, Dr Eddie Senior Lecturer  0151 794 6772 E.S.Paul@liverpool.ac.uk 

Lecturers

Alaria, Dr Jonathan Lecturer  0151 794 3366 Jonathan.Alaria@liverpool.ac.uk 
Cheal, Dr Bradley Lecturer  0151 794 3376 Bradley.Cheal@liverpool.ac.uk 
Edmonds, Dr Chris Lecturer  0151 794 3426 C.Edmonds@liverpool.ac.uk 
Gao, Dr Yanyan Lecturer  0151 795 7365 Yanyan.Gao@liverpool.ac.uk 
Harkness-Brennan, Dr Laura Lecturer  0151 794 6778 Laura.Harkness@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jaeckel, Dr Frank Lecturer  0151 795 2283 Frank.Jaeckel@liverpool.ac.uk 
Kretzschmar, Dr Jan Lecturer  0151 794 3350 Jan.Kretzschmar@liverpool.ac.uk 
Major, Dr Jon Lecturer  0151 795 9049 Jon.Major@liverpool.ac.uk 
Martin, Dr David Lecturer  0151 794 3355 David.Martin@liverpool.ac.uk 
Mavrokoridis, Dr Konstantinos Lecturer  0151 794 3378 K.Mavrokoridis@liverpool.ac.uk 
O'Brien, Dr Liam Lecturer  0151 794 3406 lobrien@liverpool.ac.uk 
Rompotis, Dr Nikolaos Lecturer  0151 795 7351 Nikolaos.Rompotis@liverpool.ac.uk 
Sharma, Dr Hem Lecturer  0151 794 3873 H.R.Sharma@liverpool.ac.uk 
Vaughan, Dr Helen Lecturer  0151 794 3659 H.L.Vaughan@liverpool.ac.uk 

Senior Research Fellows

Butler, Prof Peter Nuclear Physics  0151 794 3377 Peter.Butler@liverpool.ac.uk 
Casse, Prof Gianluigi Particle Physics  0151 794 3399 Gcasse@liverpool.ac.uk 
Farrell, Dr Trevor Research Fellow  0151 794 3419  
Jones, Dr Tim Particle Physics  0151 794 3425 T.Jones@liverpool.ac.uk 
King, Dr Barry Senior Research Fellow  0151 794 3440 Barryk@liverpool.ac.uk 

Research Fellows

Coleman, Dr Jonathon Royal Society Research Fellow  0151 794 3423 J.Coleman@liverpool.ac.uk 
Grunder, Dr Yvonne Royal Society Research Fellow  0151 795 2156 Yvonne.Grunder@liverpool.ac.uk 

Teaching Fellows

Rowlands, Dr Peter Honorary Teaching Fellow  0151 794 3368  

University Teachers

Bryant, Mr Peter Honorary Recognised Teacher  0786 650 6111 P.Bryant@liverpool.ac.uk 

Research Fellows

Alexandrova, Dr Alexandra Marie Curie Fellow (Accelerator Physics)  01925 86 4430 A.Alexandrova@liverpool.ac.uk 
Bland, Dr John Particle Physics  0151 794 3396 J.Bland@liverpool.ac.uk 
Dervan, Dr Paul Particle Physics  0151 794 3422 Paul.Dervan@liverpool.ac.uk 
Fay, Mr Robert Particle Physics  0151 794 3396 Robert.Fay@liverpool.ac.uk 
Fiorito, Dr Ralph Senior Marie Curie Research Fellow (Accelerator Physics)  01925 864 014 Ralph.Fiorito@liverpool.ac.uk 
Greenall, Mr Ashley Particle Physics  0151 794 3399 Ashley@liverpool.ac.uk 
Harrison, Mr Paul Condensed Matter Physics  0151 794 3419 Paulh@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jones, Mr Steve Systems Administrator  0151 794 2334 Steve.Jones@liverpool.ac.uk 
Klimontowska, Mrs Magdalena Project Manager OMA (Accelerator Physics)  0151 794 3415 Magdalena.Klimontowska@liverpool.ac.uk 
Resta Lopez, Dr Javier Marie Curie Fellow (Accelerator Physics)  01925 864 206 Javier.Resta-Lopez@liverpool.ac.uk 
Seddon, Mr Dave Nuclear Physics  D.A.Seddon@liverpool.ac.uk 
Sutcliffe, Mr Peter Particle Physics  0151 794 3407 P.Sutcliffe@liverpool.ac.uk 
Thompson, Mr Paul Condensed Matter Physics  4 7688 2797 Paul.Thompson2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Thornhill, Mr Jim Nuclear Physics  0151 794 3402 J.Thornhill@liverpool.ac.uk 
Torres, Dr Ricardo Project Manager oPAC (Accelerator Physics)  0151 794 3398 R.Torres@liverpool.ac.uk 
Tsurin, Dr Ilya Particle Physics  0151 794 3425 Ilya.Tsurin@liverpool.ac.uk 
Turner, Mr Phil Particle Physics  0151 794 3399  
Unsworth, Dr Paul Condensed Matter Physics  0151 794 3895 Punswth@liverpool.ac.uk 
Vinogradov, Dr Sergey Senior Marie Curie Research Fellow (Accelerator Physics)  01925 603 197  
Wei, Mr Yelong Marie Curie Fellow (Accelerator Physics)  01925 864 055  
Wells, Mr David Nuclear Physics  0151 794 3402 Drwells@liverpool.ac.uk 
Yap, Miss Jacinta Marie Curie Researcher, Accelerator Physics  Jacinta.Yap@liverpool.ac.uk 

Research Staff

Antoniou, Dr Fanouria Research Associate (Accelerator Physics)  Fanouria.Antoniou@liverpool.ac.uk 
Birkett, Dr Max Research Associate (Condensed Matter Physics)  M.Birkett@liverpool.ac.uk 
Borri, Dr Marcello Research Associate (Nuclear Physics)  0151 794 3415 Marcello.Borri@liverpool.ac.uk 
Bouchenoire, Dr Laurence Research Associate (Condensed Matter Physics)  +334 7688 2436 L.Bouchenoire@liverpool.ac.uk 
Brown, Dr Simon Research Associate (Condensed Matter Physics)  +334 7688 2197 Simon.Brown@liverpool.ac.uk 
Cheetham, Dr Kieran Research Associate (Condensed Matter Physics)  0151 795 8120 K.J.Cheetham@liverpool.ac.uk 
Christodoulou, Dr Georgios Research Associate (Particle Physics)  0151 794 3366 Georgios.Christodoulou@liverpool.ac.uk 
Colosimo, Dr Samantha Research Associate (Nuclear Physics)  0151 794 3415 S.Colosimo@liverpool.ac.uk 
Cooke, Mr Peter Research Associate (Particle Physics)  0151 794 3384 Pac@liverpool.ac.uk 
Day, Dr Michael Research Associate  0151 794 3445 Michael.Day@liverpool.ac.uk 
Dennis, Dr Stephen Research Associate (Particle Physics)  S.R.Dennis@liverpool.ac.uk 
Dettori, Dr Francesco Research Associate (Particle Physics)  Francesco.Dettori@liverpool.ac.uk 
Devlin, Dr Lee Research Associate (Accelerator Physics)  Lee.Devlin@liverpool.ac.uk 
Doncel Monasterio, Dr Maria Research Associate (Nuclear Physics)  Maria.Doncel-Monasterio@liverpool.ac.uk 
Farry, Dr Stephen Research Associate (Particle Physics)  0151 794 2918 Stephen.Farry@liverpool.ac.uk 
Gwilliam, Dr Carl Research Associate (Particle Physics)  0151 794 3403 C.Gwilliam@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hayward, Dr Helen Research Associate (Particle Physics)  0151 794 3374 H.S.Hayward@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hennessy, Dr Karol Research Associate (Particle Physics)  Karol.Hennessy@liverpool.ac.uk 
Herzan, Dr Andrej Research Associate (Nuclear Physics)  Andrej.Herzan@liverpool.ac.uk 
Ibison, Mr Mark Research Associate (Accelerator Physics)  01925 864 056 Mark.Ibison@liverpool.ac.uk 
Judson, Dr Daniel Research Associate (Nuclear Physics)  0151 794 3359 D.S.Judson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Kenny, Dr John Research Associate (Nuclear Physics)  J.Kenny@liverpool.ac.uk 
Koz, Dr Cevriye Research Associate (Condensed Matter Physics)  Cevriye.Koz@liverpool.ac.uk 
Lindsay, Dr Scott Research Associate (Particle Physics)  0151 794 3344 Scott.Lindsay@liverpool.ac.uk 
Majumdar, Dr Krishanu Research Associate (Particle Physics)  K.Majumdar@liverpool.ac.uk 
Metelko, Dr Carl Research Associate (Particle Physics)  Carl.Metelko@liverpool.ac.uk 
Minaya Flores, Dr Ignacio A. Research Associate (Particle Physics)  I.A.Minaya-Flores@liverpool.ac.uk 
Parr, Dr Edward Research Associate (Nuclear Physics)  Edward.Parr@liverpool.ac.uk 
Payne, Dr David Research Associate (Particle Physics)  0151 794 3413 Nedludd@liverpool.ac.uk 
Price, Dr Joe Research Associate (Particle Physics)  Joe.Price@liverpool.ac.uk 
Pritchard, Dr Adrian Research Associate (Particle Physics)  A.A.Pritchard@liverpool.ac.uk 
Pusa, Dr Petteri Research Associate (Nuclear Physics)  0151 794 3349 Petteri.Pusa@liverpool.ac.uk 
Randall, Dr George Research Associate (Nuclear Physics)  George.Randall@liverpool.ac.uk 
Rinnert, Dr Kurt Research Associate (Particle Physics)  0151 794 2137 Kurt.Rinnert@liverpool.ac.uk 
Roda, Dr Marco Research Associate (Particle Physics)  Marco.Roda@liverpool.ac.uk 
Schnellbach, Dr Yan-Jie Research Associate (Particle Physics)  Y.Schnellbach@liverpool.ac.uk 
Siggel-King, Dr Michele Research Associate (Condensed Matter Physics)  M.R.F.Siggel-King@liverpool.ac.uk 
Smith, Dr Caroline Research Associate (Condensed Matter Physics)  0151 794 3419 Cismith@liverpool.ac.uk 
Stavrakis, Mr George Research Associate (Particle Physics)  G.Stavrakis@liverpool.ac.uk 
Taylor, Dr Jon Research Associate (Particle Physics)  J.T.Taylor1@liverpool.ac.uk 
Thompson, Mr Paul Research Associate (Condensed Matter Physics)  +334 7688 2197 Paul.Thompson2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Unsworth, Dr Carl Research Associate (Nuclear Physics)  C.Unsworth@liverpool.ac.uk 
Vilella-Figueras, Dr Eva Research Associate (Particle Physics)  E.Vilella-Figueras@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wermeille, Dr Didier Research Associate (Condensed Matter Physics)  Didier.Wermeille@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wonsak, Dr Sven Research Associate (Particle Physics)  S.Wonsak@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wright, Dr Jonathan Research Associate (Nuclear Physics)  Jonathan.Wright@liverpool.ac.uk 
Zhang, Mr Chenfan Marie Curie Early Career Researcher (Particle Physics)   
Zhang, Dr Hao Research Associate (Accelerator Physics)  Hao.Zhang3@liverpool.ac.uk 

Emeritus, Honorary Research Fellows and Visiting Professors

Aumann, Prof Thomas Visiting Professor   
Barber, Dr Desmond Visiting Professor  Desmond.Barber@liverpool.ac.uk 
Barrett, Dr Steve Senior Research Fellow  0151 794 3427 S.D.Barrett@liverpool.ac.uk 
Dainton, Em P John Emeritus Professor  0151 794 3427 Jbd@liverpool.ac.uk 
Fisher, Prof Tony Visiting Professor  A.C.Fisher@liverpool.ac.uk 
Fry, Dr John Senior Research Fellow  0151 794 3427 J.R.Fry@liverpool.ac.uk 
Gabrielse, Prof Gerald Visiting Professor   
Lindroos, Dr Mats Visiting Professor  Mats.Lindroos@liverpool.ac.uk 
Maxfield, Dr Stephen Senior Research Fellow  0151 794 3358 Stephen.Maxfield@liverpool.ac.uk 
Nahum, Prof Alan Visiting Professor  Alan.Nahum@liverpool.ac.uk 
Patel, Dr Girish Particle Physics  0151 794 3411 G.D.Patel@liverpool.ac.uk 
Poole, Mr Michael Visiting Professor   
Simpson, Dr John Visiting Professor  John.Simpson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Smith, Dr Graham   Graham.Smith2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Smith, Susan Visiting Professor   
Suller, Mr V Visiting Professor   
Taktak, Prof Azzam Visiting Professor  Afgt@liverpool.ac.uk 
Tyndel, Prof Mike Visiting Professor   

Stephenson Institute for Renewable Energy

Alaria, Dr Jonathan Lecturer  0151 794 3366 Jonathan.Alaria@liverpool.ac.uk 
Birkett, Dr Max Research Associate  M.Birkett@liverpool.ac.uk 
Cheetham, Dr Kieran Research Associate  0151 795 8120 K.J.Cheetham@liverpool.ac.uk 
Dhanak, Dr Vin Reader  0151 795 0534 V.R.Dhanak@liverpool.ac.uk 
Durose, Prof Ken Professor  0151 795 9048 Ken.Durose@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hutter, Dr Oliver Research Associate  O.S.Hutter@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jaeckel, Dr Frank Lecturer  0151 795 2283 Frank.Jaeckel@liverpool.ac.uk 
Koz, Dr Cevriye Research Associate  Cevriye.Koz@liverpool.ac.uk 
Major, Dr Jon Research Fellow  0151 795 9049 Jon.Major@liverpool.ac.uk 
Papageorgiou, Mr Giorgos Marie Curie Research Fellow   
Phillips, Dr Laurie Research Associate  0151 795 8116 Laurie.Phillips@liverpool.ac.uk 
Veal, Dr Tim Reader  0151 794 3872 T.Veal@liverpool.ac.uk 
Vasey, Mr Vincent Research Technician  0151 795 8128 V.Vasey@liverpool.ac.uk 
Vazquez Fernandez, Miss Isabel Research Associate  I.Vazquez-Fernandez@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wu, Dr Peter Research Associate  Peter.Wu@liverpool.ac.uk 

Professional Services Staff

Annand, Miss Sarah Physics Outreach Officer  0151 795 8483 S.Annand@liverpool.ac.uk 
Bellwood, Dr Martin Project Manager, Cockcroft Institute  01925 603 148 M.Bellwood@liverpool.ac.uk 
Corbidge, Mrs Lesley-Anne Management Services Administrator - Surface Science Research Centre  0151 794 3541 L.Corbidge@liverpool.ac.uk 
Dudley, Mr David Student Experience Administrative Assistant  0151 794 3351 David.Dudley@liverpool.ac.uk 
Fielding, Mrs Linda Research Administrator - Particle Physics  0151 794 3418  
Grabias, Dr Monika Student Experience Administrative Assistant  0151 793 4168 M.Grabias@liverpool.ac.uk 
Kennedy, Mrs Janet Student Experience Administrator  0151 794 3713 Jmk@liverpool.ac.uk 
Klimontowska, Mrs Magdalena Project Manager, Cockcroft Institute  01925 86 4346 Magdalena.Klimontowska@liverpool.ac.uk 
Reid, Mrs Angie HoD PA/Management Services Administrator  0151 794 3358 A.J.Reid@liverpool.ac.uk 
Robson, Mrs Marj Postgraduate Research Administrator   0151 794 3370 M.Robson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Shacklady, Miss Zoe Student Experience Administrative Assistant - Physics  0151 795 8175 Zoe.Shacklady@liverpool.ac.uk 
Sharples, Miss Maxine Project Administrator, Cockcroft Institute  01925 86 4051 Maxine.Sharples@liverpool.ac.uk 
Torres, Dr Ricardo Project Manager, Cockcroft Institute  01925 86 4046 R.Torres@liverpool.ac.uk 
Welsch, Mrs Alexandra Project Web Developer, Cockcroft Institute  01925 864 051 A.Welsch@liverpool.ac.uk 

Technical Staff/Research Groups

Boynton, Mr Liam Apprentice Technician (PP)  Liam.Boynton@liverpool.ac.uk 
Dalby, Mr Nicholas Research Technician  0151 794 3405 Nicholas.Dalby@liverpool.ac.uk 
Everett, Mr Christopher Technician (NP)  C.Everett@liverpool.ac.uk 
Green, Mr Kieran Technician (NP)  K.Green4@liverpool.ac.uk 
Kervin, Mr John Technician (CMP)  0151 794 3431 Jkervin@liverpool.ac.uk 
Lockwood, Mr Michael Technician (PP)  0151 794 3424 M.Lockwood@liverpool.ac.uk 
Mapar, Mr Ozzy Technician (PP)  0151 794 3436 L.Mapar@liverpool.ac.uk 
Molyneaux, Mr David Technician (NP)  David.Molyneux2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Powell, Mr Samuel Electronics Technician (PP)  0151 795 0653 Samuel.Powell@liverpool.ac.uk 
Sim, Mr David Technician (PP)  0151 794 3424 D.Sim@liverpool.ac.uk 
Sim, Mr George Technician (PP)  0151 794 3436 G.W.Sim@liverpool.ac.uk 
Thomson, Miss Kayleigh Technician (PP)  K.Thomson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Whitley, Mr Mark Technician (PP)  0151 794 3436 Mwhitley@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wormald, Mr Mike Technical Research Supervisor (PP)  0151 794 3424 Mpw@liverpool.ac.uk 

Technical Staff/Workshop

McCormick, Mr Kevin Workshop Manager  0151 794 3436 K.J.Mccormick@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hollywood, Mr Daniel Workshop Technician  0151 794 3436 Daniel.Hollywood@liverpool.ac.uk 
Sinclair, Mr Paul Workshop Technician  0151 794 3436 Paulsin@liverpool.ac.uk 
Williams, Mr Keith Workshop Technician  0151 794 3431 Keithw@liverpool.ac.uk 
Electronics Workshop    0151 794 3392  
Mechanical Workshop (G03)    0151 794 3436  
Workshop Common Room    0151 794 3420  

Facilities

Basement Corridor    0151 794 3438  
Colloquia Room (323)    0151 794 3367  
Departmental Fax    0151 794 3444  
Head of Department Fax    0151 794 3362  
History Of Science    0151 794 3368  
Library (417a)    0151 794 3470  
Small Conference Room (306)    0151 794 3353  
Staff Seminar Room (337)    0151 794 3469  
Stores (Foyer)    0151 794 3405  
Student Office (408)    0151 794 3351  

LJMU Teaching Studies

LJMU AstroPhysics Centre    0151 794 3712  

Nuclear Structure Research Group

Computing Area (201a)    0151 794 3388  
Lab (201d)    0151 794 3391  
Lab (201f)    0151 794 3390  
Environmental Rad. Lab (G01)     
Fax - N.S.R.G.    0151 794 3348  
Secretary - N.S.R.G.    0151 794 3358  
Fax - Research Assistants    0151 794 6774  

Particle Physics Research Group

Computing Area (201b)    0151 794 3389  
P/Grad. Students Yr1 Rm 2.03    0151 794 3394  
P/Grad Students Yr3 Rm 2.25    0151 794 3413  
Clean Room (G01g)    0151 794 3428  
Clean Room (G01l)    0151 794 3432  
Clean Room (G01m)    0151 794 3433  
Clean Room (G01n)    0151 794 3434  
Lab (G01p)    0151 794 2694  
Secretary - P.P.R.G.    0151 794 3358  

Condensed Matter Research Group

Chemistry Lab (202)    0151 794 3393  
Helium Liquefier Room (B17)    0151 794 3437  
Fax - C.M.R.G.    0151 794 3441