Physics

Head of Department

Welsch, Professor Carsten Head of Department  0151 794 3364 C.P.Welsch@liverpool.ac.uk 
Reid, Mrs Angie Secretary to Head of Department/Management Services Administrator  0151 794 3358 A.J.Reid@liverpool.ac.uk 

Professors

Venanzoni , Professor Graziano   0151 794 3353 Graziano.Venanzoni@liverpool.ac.uk 
Andreopoulos, Professor Constantinos Professor  0151 794 3201 C.Andreopoulos@liverpool.ac.uk 
Boston, Professor Andrew Professor  0151 794 6776 Andrew.Boston@liverpool.ac.uk 
Bowcock, Professor Themis Professor  0151 794 3360 Themis.Bowcock@liverpool.ac.uk 
Casse, Professor Gianluigi Professor  0151 794 3399 Gcasse@liverpool.ac.uk 
Chartier, Professor Marielle Professor  0151 794 6775 M.Chartier@liverpool.ac.uk 
Cheal, Professor Bradley Professor  0151 794 3376 Bradley.Cheal@liverpool.ac.uk 
Dhanak, Professor Vin Professor  0151 795 0534 V.R.Dhanak@liverpool.ac.uk 
D'Onofrio, Professor Monica Professor  0151 794 2137 Monica.Donofrio@liverpool.ac.uk 
Durose, Professor Ken Professor  0151 795 9048 Ken.Durose@liverpool.ac.uk 
Greenshaw, Professor Tim Professor  0151 794 3383 Green@liverpool.ac.uk 
Harkness-Brennan, Professor Laura Professor  0151 794 6778 Laura.Harkness@liverpool.ac.uk 
Herzberg, Professor Rolf-Dietmar Professor  0151 794 3382 R.Herzberg@liverpool.ac.uk 
Joss, Professor David Professor  0151 794 3375 David.Joss@liverpool.ac.uk 
Klein, Professor Uta Professor  0151 794 3357 Uta.Klein@liverpool.ac.uk 
Lucas, Professor Christopher Professor  0151 794 3361 Clucas@liverpool.ac.uk 
McCauley, Professor Neil Professor  0151 794 3354 N.McCauley@liverpool.ac.uk 
McGrath, Professor Ronan Professor  0151 795 8142 R.McGrath@liverpool.ac.uk 
Mehta, Professor Andrew Professor  0151 794 3395 Mehta@liverpool.ac.uk 
Nolan, Prof Paul Professor  0151 794 3377 P.J.Nolan@liverpool.ac.uk 
Page, Professor Robert Professor  0151 794 3714 R.D.Page@liverpool.ac.uk 
Shears, Professor Tara Professor  0151 795 7348 Tara.Shears@liverpool.ac.uk 
Touramanis, Professor Christos Professor  0151 794 6970 C.Touramanis@liverpool.ac.uk 
Veal, Professor Tim Professor  0151 794 3872 T.Veal@liverpool.ac.uk 
Venanzoni , Professor Graziano Leverhulme International Professor  Graziano.Venanzoni@liverpool.ac.uk 
Vossebeld, Professor Joost Professor  0151 794 3386 Joost.Vossebeld@liverpool.ac.uk 
Weightman, Professor Peter Professor  0151 794 3871 Peterw@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wolski, Professor Andrzej Professor  0151 794 2765 A.Wolski@liverpool.ac.uk 

Readers

Boston, Dr Helen Reader  0151 794 3347 H.C.Boston@liverpool.ac.uk 
Burdin, Dr Sergey Reader  0151 794 3439 S.Burdin@liverpool.ac.uk 
Coleman, Dr Jonathon Reader  0151 794 3423 J.Coleman@liverpool.ac.uk 
Rose, Dr Joachim Reader  0151 794 3378 Joachim.Rose@liverpool.ac.uk 

Senior Lecturers

Alaria, Dr Jonathan Senior Lecturer  0151 794 3366 Jonathan.Alaria@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hutchcroft, Dr David Senior Lecturer  0151 794 3416 Dhcroft@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jaeckel, Dr Frank Senior Lecturer  0151 795 2283 Frank.Jaeckel@liverpool.ac.uk 
Kretzschmar, Dr Jan Senior Lecturer  0151 795 7675 Jan.Kretzschmar@liverpool.ac.uk 
Major, Dr Jon Senior Lecturer  0151 795 9049 Jon.Major@liverpool.ac.uk 
Mavrokoridis, Dr Konstantinos Senior Lecturer  0151 794 3378 K.Mavrokoridis@liverpool.ac.uk 
O'Brien, Dr Liam Senior Lecturer  0151 794 3406 lobrien@liverpool.ac.uk 
Paul, Dr Eddie Senior Lecturer  0151 794 6772 E.S.Paul@liverpool.ac.uk 
Rompotis, Dr Nikolaos Senior Lecturer  0151 795 7351 Nikolaos.Rompotis@liverpool.ac.uk 
Sharma, Dr Hem Senior Lecturer  0151 794 3873 H.R.Sharma@liverpool.ac.uk 
Vaughan, Dr Helen Senior Lecturer  0151 795 1003 H.L.Vaughan@liverpool.ac.uk 

Lecturers

Charles, Dr Tessa Lecturer  Tessa.Charles@liverpool.ac.uk 
Edmonds, Dr Chris Lecturer  0151 794 3426 C.Edmonds@liverpool.ac.uk 
Grunder, Dr Yvonne Lecturer  0151 795 2156 Yvonne.Grunder@liverpool.ac.uk 
Gwilliam, Dr Carl Lecturer  0151 794 0244 C.Gwilliam@liverpool.ac.uk 
Low, Dr Andrew Lecturer  Andrew.Low@liverpool.ac.uk 
Martin, Dr David Lecturer  0151 794 3355 David.Martin@liverpool.ac.uk 
Price, Dr Joe Lecturer  Joe.Price@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wearing, Dr Faye Lecturer  Faye.Wearing@liverpool.ac.uk 

Senior Research Fellows

Butler, Professor Peter Nuclear Physics  0151 794 3377 Peter.Butler@liverpool.ac.uk 
Farrell, Dr Trevor Research Fellow  0151 794 3419  
Jones, Dr Tim Particle Physics  0151 794 3425 T.Jones@liverpool.ac.uk 

Research Fellows

Chavez Barajas, Dr Carlos Research Associate (Particle Physics)  C.A.Chavez-Barajas@liverpool.ac.uk 
Dervan, Dr Paul Particle Physics  0151 794 3422 Paul.Dervan@liverpool.ac.uk 
Fay, Mr Robert Particle Physics  0151 794 3396 Robert.Fay@liverpool.ac.uk 
Gaffney, Dr Liam Ernest Rutherford Research Fellow - Nuclear Physics  0151 795 1382 Liam.Gaffney@liverpool.ac.uk 
Greenall, Mr Ashley Particle Physics  0151 794 3399 Ashley@liverpool.ac.uk 
Harrison, Dr Paul Condensed Matter Physics  0151 794 3419 Paulh@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hayward, Dr Helen Particle Physics  0151 794 3374 H.S.Hayward@liverpool.ac.uk 
Heazlewood, Dr Brianna EPSRC Research Fellow  B.R.Heazlewood@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hennessy, Dr Karol Particle Physics  Karol.Hennessy@liverpool.ac.uk 
O'Sullivan, Dr Marita Daphne Jackson Fellow  O-Sullivan.Marita@liverpool.ac.uk 
Rodrigues, Dr Eduardo Miguel Senior Research Scientist (Particle Physics)  Eduardo.Rodrigues@liverpool.ac.uk 
Roda, Dr Marco Particle Physics  0151 795 1437 Marco.Roda@liverpool.ac.uk 
Seddon, Mr Dave Nuclear Physics  D.A.Seddon@liverpool.ac.uk 
Stavrakis, Mr George   01925 864 206 G.Stavrakis@liverpool.ac.uk 
Thompson, Mr Paul Condensed Matter Physics  4 7688 2797 Paul.Thompson2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Thornhill, Mr Jim Nuclear Physics  0151 794 3402 J.Thornhill@liverpool.ac.uk 
Torres, Dr Ricardo Project Manager oPAC (Accelerator Physics)  0151 794 3398 R.Torres@liverpool.ac.uk 
Tsurin, Dr Ilya Particle Physics  0151 794 3425 Ilya.Tsurin@liverpool.ac.uk 
Unsworth, Dr Paul Condensed Matter Physics  0151 794 3895 Punswth@liverpool.ac.uk 
Vilella-Figueras, Dr Eva UKRI Future Leaders Research Fellow  E.Vilella-Figueras@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wei, Mr Yelong Marie Curie Fellow (Accelerator Physics)  01925 864 055 weiyealong1228@gmail.com 

Research Staff

Bouchenoire, Dr Laurence Research Associate (Condensed Matter Physics)  +334 7688 2436 L.Bouchenoire@liverpool.ac.uk 
Carmignani, Dr Joseph Research Associate (Particle Physics)  J.Carmignani@liverpool.ac.uk 
Day, Dr Michael Research Associate (Condensed Matter Physics)  0151 794 3445 Michael.Day@liverpool.ac.uk 
Ingham, Dr James Research Associate (Condensed Matter Physics)  James.Ingham@liverpool.ac.uk 
Judson, Dr Daniel Research Associate (Nuclear Physics)  0151 794 3359 D.S.Judson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Khatri, Mrs Ayushi Research Associate (Particle Physics)  A.Khatri@liverpool.ac.uk 
Korostelev, Dr Maxim Research Associate (Accelerator Physics)   Maxim.Korostelev@liverpool.ac.uk 
Kumar, Dr Narender Research Associate (Accelerator Physics)  Narender.Kumar@liverpool.ac.uk 
Liu, Dr Jian Research Associate (Nuclear Physics)  J.L.Liu@liverpool.ac.uk 
Majumdar, Dr Krishanu Research Associate (Particle Physics)  K.Majumdar@liverpool.ac.uk 
Metelko, Dr Carl Research Associate (Particle Physics)  Carl.Metelko@liverpool.ac.uk 
Norman, Dr Jamie Research Associate (Nuclear Physics)  J.K.Norman@liverpool.ac.uk 
Pandey, Dr Rahul Research Associate (Condensed Matter Physics)  Rahul.Pandey@liverpool.ac.uk 
Payne, Dr David Research Associate (Particle Physics)  0151 794 3413 Nedludd@liverpool.ac.uk 
Phillips, Dr Laurie Research Associate (Condensed Matter Physics)  Laurie.Phillips@liverpool.ac.uk 
Richardson, Dr Vincent Research Associate (Condensed Matter Physics)  Vincent.Richardson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Rintoul, Dr Ellis Research Associate (Nuclear Physics)  Ellis.Rintoul@liverpool.ac.uk 
Sebastiani, Dr Cristiani Research Associate (Particle Physics)  Cristiano.Sebastiani@liverpool.ac.uk 
Shalvey, Dr Thomas Research Associate (Condensed Matter Physics)  Thomas.Shalvey@liverpool.ac.uk 
Smith, Dr Caroline Research Associate (Condensed Matter Physics)  0151 794 3419 Cismith@liverpool.ac.uk 
Stavrakis, Mr George Research Associate (Particle Physics)  0151 794 3407 G.Stavrakis@liverpool.ac.uk 
Sullivan, Dr Matthew Research Associate (Particle Physics)  Matthew.Sullivan@liverpool.ac.uk 
Taylor, Dr Jon Research Associate (Particle Physics)  J.T.Taylor1@liverpool.ac.uk 
Thompson, Mr Paul Research Associate (Condensed Matter Physics)  +334 7688 2197 Paul.Thompson2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Vazquez Furelos, Dr David Research Associate (Particle Physics)  D.Vazquez-Furelos@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wells, Mr David Nuclear Physics  0151 794 3402 Drwells@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wermeille, Dr Didier Research Associate (Condensed Matter Physics)  Didier.Wermeille@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wolfenden, Dr Joseph Research Associate (Accelerator Physics)  Joseph.Wolfenden@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wonsak, Dr Sven Research Associate (Particle Physics)  S.Wonsak@liverpool.ac.uk 
Zhang, Dr Chenfan Research Associate (Particle Physics)  Chenfan.Zhang@liverpool.ac.uk 
Zhang, Dr Hao Research Associate (Accelerator Physics)  Hao.Zhang3@liverpool.ac.uk 

Professional Services Staff

Annand, Miss Sarah Student Experience Coordinator (Physics) and Physics Outreach Officer  0151 795 8483 S.Annand@liverpool.ac.uk 
Astreos, Mr Constantinos Commercial Development Manager  0151 795 7837 C.Astreos@liverpool.ac.uk 
Bragger, Mrs Zoe Student Experience Administrator  0151 795 8175 Zoe.Shacklady@liverpool.ac.uk 
Burgess, Miss Carole Student Experience Coordinator  0151 794 4757 C.T.Brown@liverpool.ac.uk 
Clark, Mrs Julie Particle Physics Finance Administrator  0151 794 3418 Julie.Clark@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jackson, Mrs Catherine Project Coordinator  C.L.Jackson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Kamarudin, Miss Ayesha Project Administrator, Cockcroft Institute  01925 603 641 Ayesha.Kamarudin@liverpool.ac.uk 
Murphy, Mr Kane Student Experience Assistant  0151 794 3351 Kane.Murphy@liverpool.ac.uk 
Reid, Mrs Angie HoD PA/Management Services Administrator  0151 794 3358 A.J.Reid@liverpool.ac.uk 
Robson, Mrs Marj Postgraduate Research Administrator   0151 794 3370 M.Robson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Smith, Mrs Naomi Project Manager, Cockcroft Institute  01925 864 299 Naomi.Smith@liverpool.ac.uk 
Thompson, Miss Lauren Student Experience Administrator  Lauren.Thompson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Torres, Dr Ricardo Project Manager, Cockcroft Institute  01925 86 4046 R.Torres@liverpool.ac.uk 
Welsch, Mrs Alexandra Project Web Developer, Cockcroft Institute  01925 864 051 A.Welsch@liverpool.ac.uk 

Technical Staff/Research Groups

Brown, Mr Matthew Technician (PP)  0151 794 3436 M.A.Brown@liverpool.ac.uk 
Bogdan, Mr Balint Electronics Engineer (PP)  B.Bogdan@liverpool.ac.uk 
Boynton, Mr Liam Technician (PP)  Liam.Boynton@liverpool.ac.uk 
Carroll, Mr John Technician (PP)  0151 794 3430 Cags@liverpool.ac.uk 
Everett, Mr Christopher Technician (NP)  C.Everett@liverpool.ac.uk 
Green, Mr Kieran Technician (NP)  K.Green4@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jones, Mr Warren Technician (PP)  Warren.Jones@liverpool.ac.uk 
Kervin, Mr John Technician (CMP)  0151 794 3431 Jkervin@liverpool.ac.uk 
Lockwood, Mr Michael Technician (PP)  0151 794 3424 M.Lockwood@liverpool.ac.uk 
Powell, Mr Samuel Electronics Technician (PP)  0151 795 0653 Samuel.Powell@liverpool.ac.uk 
Sim, Mr David Technician (PP)  0151 794 3424 D.Sim@liverpool.ac.uk 

Technical Staff/Workshop

Whitley, Mr Mark Workshop Team Leader  0151 794 3421 Mwhitley@liverpool.ac.uk 
Gibbs, Mr Thomas Workshop Technician  0151 794 3436 Thomas.Gibbs@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hollywood, Mr Daniel Deputy Workshop Team Leader  0151 794 3436 Daniel.Hollywood@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jones, Mr Emlyn Workshop Technician  0151 794 3436 Emlyn.Jones@liverpool.ac.uk 
Malley, Mr Robert Workshop Technician  0151 794 3436 Robert.Malley@liverpool.ac.uk 
Marshall, Mr Luke Workshop Technician  0151 794 3436 Luke.Marshall@liverpool.ac.uk 
McCormick, Mr Kevin Mechanical Engineering Developer  0151 794 3436 K.J.Mccormick@liverpool.ac.uk 
Sinclair, Mr Paul Advanced Materials Group Technician  0151 795 0662 Paulsin@liverpool.ac.uk 
Watling, Mr Anthony Workshop Technician  0151 794 3436 A.L.Watling@liverpool.ac.uk 
Electronics Workshop    0151 794 3392  
Mechanical Workshop (G03)    0151 794 3436  
Workshop Common Room    0151 794 3420  

Emeritus, Honorary Research Fellows and Visiting Professors

Aumann, Professor Thomas Visiting Professor   
Barber, Dr Desmond Visiting Professor  Desmond.Barber@liverpool.ac.uk 
Barrett, Dr Stephen Senior Research Fellow  0151 794 3373 S.D.Barrett@liverpool.ac.uk 
Dainton, Em P John Emeritus Professor  Jbd@liverpool.ac.uk 
Fisher, Prof Tony Visiting Professor  A.C.Fisher@liverpool.ac.uk 
Fry, Dr John Senior Research Fellow  J.R.Fry@liverpool.ac.uk 
Gabrielse, Professor Gerald Visiting Professor   
Klein, Prof Max Professor  0151 794 3355 Max.Klein@liverpool.ac.uk 
Kostka, Dr Peter Visiting Professor  Peter.Kostka@liverpool.ac.uk 
Lemmon, Dr Roy Senior Fellow  R.Lemmon@liverpool.ac.uk 
Lindroos, Dr Mats Visiting Professor  Mats.Lindroos@liverpool.ac.uk 
Maxfield, Dr Stephen Senior Research Fellow  Stephen.Maxfield@liverpool.ac.uk 
Nahum, Professor Alan Visiting Professor  Alan.Nahum@liverpool.ac.uk 
Patel, Dr Girish Particle Physics  G.D.Patel@liverpool.ac.uk 
Poole, Mr Michael Visiting Professor   
Simpson, Dr John Visiting Professor  John.Simpson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Smith, Dr Graham   Graham.Smith2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Smith, Susan Visiting Professor   
Suller, Mr V Visiting Professor   
Taktak, Prof Azzam Visiting Professor  Afgt@liverpool.ac.uk 
Tyndel, Professor Mike Visiting Professor   
Warren, Dr Paul Visiting Professor  Paul.Warren@liverpool.ac.uk 

University Teachers

Bryant, Mr Peter Honorary Recognised Teacher  0786 650 6111 P.Bryant@liverpool.ac.uk 

Stephenson Institute for Renewable Energy

Alaria, Dr Jonathan Senior Lecturer  0151 794 3366 Jonathan.Alaria@liverpool.ac.uk 
Dhanak, Professor Vin Professor  0151 795 0534 V.R.Dhanak@liverpool.ac.uk 
Durose, Professor Ken Professor  0151 795 9048 Ken.Durose@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jaeckel, Dr Frank Senior Lecturer  0151 795 2283 Frank.Jaeckel@liverpool.ac.uk 
Major, Dr Jon EPSRC Early Career Research Fellow  0151 795 9049 Jon.Major@liverpool.ac.uk 
Phillips, Dr Laurie Research Associate  0151 795 8116 Laurie.Phillips@liverpool.ac.uk 
Veal, Professor Tim Professor  0151 794 3872 T.Veal@liverpool.ac.uk 
Vasey, Mr Vincent Research Technician  0151 795 8128 V.Vasey@liverpool.ac.uk 

Facilities

Basement Corridor    0151 794 3438  
Colloquia Room (323)    0151 794 3367  
History Of Science    0151 794 3368  
Library (417a)    0151 794 3470  
Staff Seminar Room (337)    0151 794 3469  
Stores (Foyer)    0151 794 3405  
Student Office (408)    0151 794 3351  

LJMU Teaching Studies

LJMU AstroPhysics Centre    0151 794 3712  

Nuclear Structure Research Group

Computing Area (201a)    0151 794 3388  
Lab (201d)    0151 794 3391  
Lab (201f)    0151 794 3390  
Environmental Rad. Lab (G01)     

Particle Physics Research Group

Computing Area (201b)    0151 794 3389  
P/Grad. Students Yr1 Rm 2.03    0151 794 3394  
P/Grad Students Yr3 Rm 2.25    0151 794 3413  
Clean Room (G01g)    0151 794 3428  
Clean Room (G01l)    0151 794 3432  
Clean Room (G01m)    0151 794 3433  
Clean Room (G01n)    0151 794 3434  
Lab (G01p)    0151 794 2694  

Condensed Matter Research Group

Chemistry Lab (202)    0151 794 3393  
Helium Liquefier Room (B17)    0151 794 3437