Equality and Diversity

In the Department of Physics we take the promotion of diversity and the assurance of equality very seriously.  We are committed to providing an inclusive environment that creates equal opportunities for all, and in which everyone is treated fairly.

The Department of Physics is under the umbrella of the School of Physical Sciences, which was proud to be awarded the Silver Athena Swan award in 2017 in recognition of our efforts on the promotion gender equality. The School is now working towards achieving the Silver award, which will demonstrate our continuing commitment to taking positive actions tackling challenges, and our ability to demonstrate the impact of actions we are implementing.

The Department of Physics is also a Supporter of the IoP Project Juno, working towards Practitioner and ultimately Champion status. As such, we fully endorse and are working towards incorporating into our policies and frameworks the six Juno principles.

The Department of Physics has in place the Committee of Equality and Diversity which is addressing all of the above, and which provides assistance and support to our staff and students.

Key Contacts:

Name

Role

Email Address

Dr Yvonne Grunder

Physics Director of E&D

Yvonne.Grunder@liverpool.ac.uk

Dr Bradley Cheal

Committee Member

Bradley.Cheal@liverpool.ac.uk

Dr Samantha Colosimo

Committee Member

S.Colosimo@liverpool.ac.uk

Dr Helen Hayward

Committee Member

H.S.Hayward@liverpool.ac.uk

Dr Neil McCauley

Committee Member

N.McCauley@liverpool.ac.uk

Mrs Angela Reid

Committee Member

A.J.Reid@liverpool.ac.uk

Prof Peter Weightman Committee Member Peterw@liverpool.ac.uk
Prof Carsten Welsch Committee Member C.P.Welsch@liverpool.ac.uk
Mr Keith Williams Committee Member Keithw@liverpool.ac.uk