Environmental Assessment and Management Research Centre


Key EAM research centre academic staff:

  • Prof Thomas Fischer; PhD, Dipl-Geogr; FIEMA; FHEA
  • Dr Urmila Jha-Thakur, FHEA

Research Associates

  • Dr Raymond Hung Shiu Fung
  • Mr Kofi Aggrey
  • Dr Tiago Rodrigues (external)

Visiting EAM profs, fellows and honorary lecturers

  • Visting Prof Ben Cave (Health Impact Assessment Consultant)
  • Dr Juwo Sibale (Chief Environmental Officer at Environmental Affairs Department of Malawi)
  • Dr Stephen Mustow (Environmental consulting and consenting Director, Water; Stantec)
  • Dr Sarah Clement (Associate Professor in Environmental Policy, The Australian National University)
  • Mr Ryngan Pyper (Director – Health and Social Impact; RPS)
  • Mr David Hoare (Technical Director at RSK)

Current EAM PhD students

  • Haojia Wang: Plan EIA (SEA) effectiveness in China
  • Umrah Mahadik: Connecting religious values to climate change adaptation and planning
  • Bayan Shabeeb: Environmental impact assessment and management of produced water in the Southern Iraqi oil fields
  • Agaba Mulumba: Biodiversity in environmental impact assessment in Uganda
  • Claudia Akolam: Women empowerment and Environmental Impact Assessment in Ghana
  • Vivian Agbasoga: Telecommunications Masts and Base Tranceiver Stations in neighbourhoods: The role of environmental impact assessment