Majority English speaking countries

If you're a UK national, or a national of an overseas majority English-speaking country, you won't usually need to complete an English language test or hold an English language qualification.

The UK government defines the following countries as majority English speaking:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • British Overseas Territories
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • Malta
  • New Zealand
  • Republic of Ireland
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America

If you're a national of one of these countries, we'll usually assume that you meet our minimum English language requirements.

You also won't need to prove your knowledge of English if you’re a national of Canada.

Back to: International students