Musculoskeletal & Ageing Science

Head of Department

Kemp, Professor Graham Head of Department & Professor of Metabolic and Physiological Imaging  0151 794 9493 G.J.Kemp@liverpool.ac.uk 

Professors

Barrett-Jolley, Professor Richard Professor of Neuropharmacology  Rbj@liverpool.ac.uk 
Bou-Gharios, Professor George Professor of Matrix Biology  0151 794 9061 G.Bou-Gharios@liverpool.ac.uk 
Clegg, Professor Peter Professor of Musculoskeletal Biology & Executive Dean of the Institute of Life Course and Medical Science  0151 794 6077 P.D.Clegg@liverpool.ac.uk 
Comerford, Professor Eithne Professor in Small Animal Surgery  0151 794 6568 Eithne.Comerford@liverpool.ac.uk 
German, Professor Alex Professor of Small Animal Medicine  Ajgerman@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jackson, Professor Malcolm Professor of Musculoskeletal Biology  0151 794 9081 M.J.Jackson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jeffery, Professor Nathan Professor of Evolutionary Anatomy & Director, Human Anatomy Resource Centre  0151 794 9086 Njeffery@liverpool.ac.uk 
McArdle, Professor Anne Professor  0151 794 9059 Mdcr02@liverpool.ac.uk 
Peffers, Professor Mandy Professor & Wellcome Trust Clinical Intermediate Fellow  0151 795 6006 M.J.Peffers@liverpool.ac.uk 

Readers

Bates, Dr Karl Reader  0151 794 9075 K.T.Bates@liverpool.ac.uk 
Goebel, Dr Andreas Reader & Honorary Consultant in Pain Medicine; Director of the Pain Research Institute  Andreas.Goebel@liverpool.ac.uk 
Laird, Dr Elizabeth Reader & Deputy Head of Department   0151 794 6026 Elizabeth.Laird@liverpool.ac.uk 

Senior Lecturers

D'Aout, Dr Kris Senior Lecturer   0151 794 9077 Kristiaan.Daout@liverpool.ac.uk 
Iwanejko, Dr Lesley Senior Lecturer  0151 794 9078 Iwanejko@liverpool.ac.uk 
Maddox, Dr Tom Senior Lecturer in Veterinary Diagnostic Imaging & Interim Head, Department of Small Animal Clinical Science  0151 795 6226 Thomas.Maddox@liverpool.ac.uk 
Marshall, Dr Andrew Senior Clinical Lecturer & Consultant Clinical Neurophysiologist  Andrew.Marshall@liverpool.ac.uk 
Pekovic-Vaughan, Dr Vanja Senior Lecturer in Musculoskeletal Biology  0151 794 9093 Vanja.Pekovic-Vaughan@liverpool.ac.uk 
Tew, Dr Simon Senior Lecturer in Orthopaedic Sciences  0151 794 9029 Simon.Tew@liverpool.ac.uk 
Vasilaki, Dr Aphrodite Senior Lecturer  0151 794 9069 Vasilaki@liverpool.ac.uk 
Walmsley, Dr Gemma Senior Lecturer in Veterinary Neurology  0151 794 9309 Gemma.Walmsley@liverpool.ac.uk 
Whysall, Dr Kasia Senior Lecturer  0151 794 9076 K.Whysall@liverpool.ac.uk 

Lecturers

Oldershaw, Dr Rachel Lecturer  0151 794 6111 Rachel.Oldershaw@liverpool.ac.uk 
Poulet, Dr Blandine Lecturer  0151 794 9074 B.Poulet@liverpool.ac.uk 
Sharp, Dr Alana Lecturer  0151 795 7725 Alana.Sharp@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wilkinson, Dr David Lecturer  David.Wilkinson@liverpool.ac.uk 

Tenure Track Fellows

Camp, Dr Ariel Tenure Track Fellow  Ariel.Camp@liverpool.ac.uk 
Geraghty, Dr Brendan Tenure Track Fellow  B.Geraghty@liverpool.ac.uk 
Isanejad, Dr Masoud Tenure Track Fellow  M.Isanejad@liverpool.ac.uk 
Turner, Dr David Tenure Track Fellow  David.Turner@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wright, Dr Helen Versus Arthritis Career Development Fellow / Tenure Track Fellow  0151 795 4457 Hlwright@liverpool.ac.uk 
Yamamoto, Dr Kazuhiro Versus Arthritis Career Development Fellow / Tenure Track Fellow  Kazuhiro.Yamamoto@liverpool.ac.uk 

Independent Fellows

Berwick, Dr Richard Versus Arthritis - Clinical Research Fellow  Richard.Berwick@liverpool.ac.uk 
Turlo, Dr Agnieszka Research Fellow  A.Turlo@liverpool.ac.uk 

Academic Fellow

Johnson, Ms Selina   Selina.Johnson@liverpool.ac.uk 

Researchers

Al Duhneen , Mr Abdulhadi Research Associate  A.Al-Duhneen2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Anderson, Dr James Postdoctoral Research Associate  James.Anderson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Cross, Dr Andy Postdoctoral Research Associate  0151 529 5933 Across@liverpool.ac.uk 
Dowgray, Ms Nathalie Research Associate  ndowgray@liverpool.ac.uk 
Gardiner, Dr James Postdoctoral Research Associate  J.D.Gardiner@liverpool.ac.uk 
Heaton, Dr Robert Research Associate  Robert.Heaton@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jones, Dr Samantha Postdoctoral Research Associate  Samantha.Jones2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Kissane, Dr Roger Postdoctoral Research Associate  R.Kissane@liverpool.ac.uk 
Liu, Dr Ke Postdoctoral Research Associate  0151 794 9065 Ke.Liu2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Norman, Dr Brendan Research Associate  Brendan.Norman@liverpool.ac.uk 
Staunton, Dr Caroline Researcher Co-Investigator & Research Associate   0151 794 9153 C.Staunton@liverpool.ac.uk 
Sutton, Ms Elizabeth Research Associate & PhD student  E.M.Sutton@liverpool.ac.uk 
Sutherland, Dr Hazel Research Associate  0151 794 9062 H.Sutherland@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wilson, Dr Peter Research Assistant  0151 794 9066 P.Wilson@liverpool.ac.uk 

Technical Staff

Charles, Dr James Research Technician  J.Charles@liverpool.ac.uk 
Eyre, Miss Kelly Veterinary Nurse   Kelly.Eyre@liverpool.ac.uk 
Neiland, Mr Harvey Research Technician  Harvey.Neiland@liverpool.ac.uk 
Sensi, Miss Serena Research Technician & PhD student  Serena.Sensi@liverpool.ac.uk 
Woods, Mrs Georgiana Royal Canin Weight Management Clinic Nurse  0151 795 6203 G.Woods@liverpool.ac.uk 

Post Graduate Students

Abdullah, Miss Genna   G.Abdullah2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Abu Elkhair, Miss Ahlam Abuelkhair Saad   A.Abu-Elkhair@liverpool.ac.uk 
Akalan, Mr Arda   A.Akalan@liverpool.ac.uk 
Al Maslamani, Miss Noor   N.Al-Maslamani@liverpool.ac.uk 
Alghamdi, Dr Majed   Majed.Alghamdi@liverpool.ac.uk 
Alhashmi, Mr Mohammad PhD Student  Mohammad.Alhashmi@liverpool.ac.uk 
AlSalhi, Ms Sara   S.I.Alsalhi@liverpool.ac.uk 
Altab, Mr Gulam   galtab@liverpool.ac.uk 
Ball, Mr Sam   s.t.m.ball@liverpool.ac.uk 
Banerjee, Miss Samrajni   Samrajni.Banerjee@liverpool.ac.uk 
Bersan, Dr Erika   Erika.Bersan2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Cardenas Serna, Miss Marcela   M.Cardenas-Serna@liverpool.ac.uk 
Castanheira, Dr Catarina   C.Castanheira@liverpool.ac.uk 
Catchpole, Miss Zoe   Zoe.Catchpole@liverpool.ac.uk 
Chatsirisupachai, Mr Kasit   K.Chatsirisupachai@liverpool.ac.uk 
Clarke, Miss Emily   Emily-Jayne.Clarke@liverpool.ac.uk 
Coleman, Miss Hannah   H.Coleman2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Cross, Mr Samuel   Samuel.Cross@liverpool.ac.uk 
Dempsey, Mr Matthew   Matthew.Dempsey@liverpool.ac.uk 
Duffield, Mr Stephen PhD Student  Stephen.Duffield@liverpool.ac.uk 
Ehrle, Miss Anna PhD Student  Anna.Ehrle@liverpool.ac.uk 
Ersoy, Mr Ufuk   Ufuk.Ersoy@liverpool.ac.uk 
Filbertine, Ms Grace   Grace.Filbertine@liverpool.ac.uk 
Fresneda Alarcon, Mr Michele   M.Fresneda-Alarcon@liverpool.ac.uk 
Fu, Mr Shijian   Shijian.Fu@liverpool.ac.uk 
Galloon, Miss Hannah   H.Galloon@liverpool.ac.uk 
Gill, Miss Lucy   L.Gill@liverpool.ac.uk 
Green, Mr Daniel   Daniel.Green@liverpool.ac.uk 
Gremida, Mr Abdulrahman M E   A.Gremida@liverpool.ac.uk 
Guiomar Pereira Goncalves, Mrs Ana Rita    
Hemmings, Miss Kay   Kay.Hemmings@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hennessy, Mrs Meagan   M.Hennessy@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hills, Mr Samuel   S.Hills@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jensen, Mr Anders   A.Jensen2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jones, Mr Michael   M.J.W.Jones@liverpool.ac.uk 
Kolterman Jr, Mr Tad   Tad.Kolterman@liverpool.ac.uk 
Kumiscia, Miss Jekaterina   J.Kumiscia@liverpool.ac.uk 
Larrier, Mr Irvine   I.Larrier@liverpool.ac.uk 
Lipreri, Dr Giulia   G.Lipreri@liverpool.ac.uk 
Meschis, Miss Maria Martina   M.Meschis@liverpool.ac.uk 
Moore, Mr Warren   W.Moore@liverpool.ac.uk 
Olesen, Miss Mie Kronborg   M.Olesen@liverpool.ac.uk 
Pang, Dr David   David.Pang@liverpool.ac.uk 
Prokopidis, Mr Konstantinos   K.Prokopidis@liverpool.ac.uk 
Pye, Miss Christine   Christine.Pye@liverpool.ac.uk 
Rutland, Mr Dominic   Dominic.Rutland@liverpool.ac.uk 
Shorter, Miss Emily   E.Shorter@liverpool.ac.uk 
Srivastava, Dr Samir   Samir.Srivastava@liverpool.ac.uk 
Sultana, Miss Pinky   P.Sultana@liverpool.ac.uk 
Thin, Ms Khin Aye   Khin.Aye.Thin@liverpool.ac.uk 
Tollitt, Mr Ben   B.R.Tollitt@liverpool.ac.uk 
Towler, Mr Joseph   J.Towler@liverpool.ac.uk 
Vega Magdaleno, Mr Gustavo Daniel   Gustavo.Daniel.Vega-Magdaleno@liverpool.ac.uk 
Winstanley-Zarach, Miss Phaedra   P.Winstanley-Zarach@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wood Bailey, Miss Amber   A.P.Wood-Bailey@liverpool.ac.uk 
Zhang, Mr Pengyuan   Pengyuan.Zhang@liverpool.ac.uk 

Honorary staff

Alizadehkhaiyat, Dr Omid   Omid.Alizadehkhaiyat@liverpool.ac.uk 
Allen, Miss Alexandra   A.R.Allen@liverpool.ac.uk 
Andersson, Dr David   david.andersson@kcl.ac.uk 
Barnes, Miss Claudia   Claudia.Barnes@liverpool.ac.uk 
Barraclough, Dr Dong   Dong.Barraclough@liverpool.ac.uk 
Beamish, Dr Emma   E.Beamish@liverpool.ac.uk 
Bronowska, Prof Agnieszka Katarzyna   agnieszka.bronowska@ncl.ac.uk 
Byun, Dr Hyang-Min   hyang-min.byun@newcastle.ac.uk 
Calimport, Dr Stuart   Stuart.Calimport@liverpool.ac.uk 
Calverley, Em P Peter   Pmacal@liverpool.ac.uk 
Charles, Dr James   J.Charles@liverpool.ac.uk 
Chiewchengchol, Dr Direkrit   Direkrit.Chiewchengchol@liverpool.ac.uk 
Chiu, Dr David   david.chiu@xjtlu.edu.cn 
Clarke, Prof Ronald   Ronald.J.Clarke@liverpool.ac.uk 
Crompton, Prof Robin   Rhcromp@liverpool.ac.uk 
Deehan, Prof David John    
Demetriou, Dr Philippos   demephil@gmail.com 
Dhowre, Dr Hala   H.S.Dhowre@liverpool.ac.uk 
Edge, Mrs Ann   Ann.Edge@liverpool.ac.uk 
Eldridge, Mr Paul   P.R.Eldridge@liverpool.ac.uk 
Frankland, Mrs Helen   H.Frankland@liverpool.ac.uk 
Gale, Prof Jeremy    
Gallagher, Em P James   J.A.Gallagher@liverpool.ac.uk 
Genga, Mr Eugene   Eugene.Genga@liverpool.ac.uk 
Gunther, Dr Michael   Michaelg@liverpool.ac.uk 
Haneef, Dr Atikah   Atikah.Haneef@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jim Harrison, Mr William   William.Harrison@liverpool.ac.uk 
Henstock, Dr James   J.R.Henstock@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hirankarn, Prof Nattiya   Nattiya.H@chula.ac.th 
Hughes, Miss Juliette   Juliette.Hughes@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hunter, Em P Jennifer   Bja@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jarvis, Dr Jonathan   Jcj@liverpool.ac.uk 
Johnston, Dr Brian   Brian.Johnston@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jones, Dr Samantha   Samantha.Jones2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Kanakis, Dr Ioannis   I.Kanakis@liverpool.ac.uk 
Lagger, Dr Cyril Research Fellow  Cyril.Lagger@liverpool.ac.uk 
Keenan, Dr Craig   C.M.Keenan@liverpool.ac.uk 
Kuba, Dr Shweta   Shweta.Kuba@liverpool.ac.uk 
Maidment, Dr Susannah   Susannah.maidment@nhm.ac.uk 
Marek, Mr Ryan   Ryan.Marek@liverpool.ac.uk 
McArdle, Dr Christopher   Christopher.Mcardle@liverpool.ac.uk 
McCormick, Miss Rachel   R.Mccormick@liverpool.ac.uk 
Mediana, Ms Ayren   A.Mediana@liverpool.ac.uk 
Meeson, Dr Annette   Annette.Meeson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Milan, Dr Anna   Anna.Milan@liverpool.ac.uk 
Molloy, Dr Andrew   A.Molloy@liverpool.ac.uk 
Morris, Ms Kerstie Jane   Kerstie-Jane.Morris@liverpool.ac.uk 
Mueller, Dr Alan   A.J.Mueller@liverpool.ac.uk 
Norris, Mr Richard   R.Norris@liverpool.ac.uk 
Powell, Dr Jason L.   J.L.Powell@liverpool.ac.uk 
Pugh, Mr Jamie   Jamie.Pugh@liverpool.ac.uk 
Roberts, Dr Norman   N.B.Roberts@liverpool.ac.uk 
Roebuck, Dr Margaret   M.M.Roebuck@liverpool.ac.uk 
Salerno, Dr Anna   A.Salerno@liverpool.ac.uk 
Salmons, Em P Stanley   S.Salmons@liverpool.ac.uk 
Shenkin, Em P Alan   Shenkin@liverpool.ac.uk 
Singer, Dr Ellen   E.R.Singer@liverpool.ac.uk 
Smith, Mr Kenneth   K.Smith22@liverpool.ac.uk 
Soriano Arroquia, Dr Ana   A.I.Soriano-Arroquia@liverpool.ac.uk 
Stalsberg, Ms Susan   S.A.Stalsberg@liverpool.ac.uk 
Stirling, Mr Soren   S.Stirling2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Tejada Martinez, Ms Daniela   D.Tejada-Martinez@liverpool.ac.uk 
Thorpe, Dr Chavaunne   Chavaunne.Thorpe@liverpool.ac.uk 
Trayhurn, Em P Paul   P.Trayhurn@liverpool.ac.uk 
Turton, Dr Peter   P.Turton@liverpool.ac.uk 
Van 'T Hof, Prof Rob   R.Vanthof@liverpool.ac.uk 
Warren, Dr Philippa   Philippa.Warren@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wen, Prof Yan   Yan.Wen@liverpool.ac.uk 
Willems, Dr Catherine    
Williams, Mrs Phillipa   P.Williams6@liverpool.ac.uk 
Winlow, Prof Bill   Bill.Winlow@liverpool.ac.uk 
Zamboulis, Miss Danae   D.E.Zamboulis@liverpool.ac.uk 

Associate Members

Tierney, Dr Claire Lecturer  C.Tierney@liverpool.ac.uk