Music

Head of Department

Tackley, Prof Catherine Head of Department  0151 794 9908 Catherine.Tackley@liverpool.ac.uk 

Academic Staff

Carey, Mr Liam University Teacher   0151 795 1179 Liam.Carey@liverpool.ac.uk 
Coutinho, Dr Eduardo Lecturer in Music Psychology  0151 795 8558 E.Coutinho@liverpool.ac.uk 
Cohen, Prof Sara Head of IPM; Director of Research  0151 794 3820 Sara@liverpool.ac.uk 
Carman, Dr Oliver Lecturer in Music Technology   0151 794 9934 Oliver.Carman@liverpool.ac.uk 
Dickinson, Mrs Louise Choral Director  0151 795 1180 C.L.Dickinson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Fairclough, Mr Matthew Reader and Director of Music Technology  0151 794 3069 Mattf@liverpool.ac.uk 
Flynn, Mr Mathew Music Industries Lecturer  0151 795 8600 Mathew.Flynn2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Forkert-Smith, Dr Kenneth Senior Lecturer in Theory and Analysis; Admissions Tutor  0151 794 2647 Kenneth.Smith@liverpool.ac.uk 
Frizell, Mr Andrew Lecturer in Popular Music Performance  0151 795 0648 afrizell@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hackbarth, Dr Ben Director of Interdisciplinary Centre for Composition & Technology, Senior Lecturer and Head of Composition  0151 794 3099 B.Hackbarth@liverpool.ac.uk 
Holmes, Mr John Lecturer in Music Technology  0151 795 1178 John.Holmes@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hooper, Dr Giles Senior Lecturer in Musicology; Director of Learning and Teaching  0151 794 3095 Giles.Hooper@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jarman, Dr Freya Reader in Critical Musicology  0151 794 3066 F.Jarman@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jones, Dr Michael Senior Lecturer in Music Industries  0151 794 2939 Eben@liverpool.ac.uk 
Leonard, Dr Marion Senior Lecturer in Popular Music Studies  0151 794 6972 Marionl@liverpool.ac.uk 
Moss, Mr Thomas Lecturer in Composition  0151 795 7543 Thomas.Moss@liverpool.ac.uk 
Singh, Dr Simran Leverhulme Early Career Fellow  Simran.Singh@liverpool.ac.uk 
Spitzer, Prof Michael Professor of Theory and Analysis  0151 794 3078 Michael.Spitzer@liverpool.ac.uk 
Stafford, Mr Simon Lecturer in Popular Music Performance  0151 795 0648 S.Stafford@liverpool.ac.uk 
Strachan, Dr Robert Senior Lecturer in Popular Music Studies  0151 794 3247 R.Strachan@liverpool.ac.uk 
Tessler, Dr Holly Lecturer in Music Industries  0151 795 7808 Holly.Tessler@liverpool.ac.uk 
Tsang, Dr Lee Lecturer in Classical Music Performance  0151 795 7544 Lee.Tsang@liverpool.ac.uk 
Turowski, Dr Paul Lecturer in Music for Digital Games  0151 794 3105 Paul.Turowski@liverpool.ac.uk 
Um, Dr Haekyung Senior Lecturer in Ethnomusicology  0151 794 3084 H.K.Um@liverpool.ac.uk 
Worth, Dr Richard Lecturer in Music and Popular Music; Admissions Tutor  0151 794 9936 Richard.Worth@liverpool.ac.uk 

Professional Services Contact Numbers

Longworth, Mr Michael Administrative Assistant - Music (Reception)  0151 794 3100 M.Longworth@liverpool.ac.uk 
Beiert, Dr Michael Technical Services Coordinator (Music)  07807 106 921 M.Beiert1@liverpool.ac.uk 
Higgins, Mr Philip Technician  07584 441577 P.Higgins@liverpool.ac.uk 
Student Experience Team    0151 795 0500  

Liverpool University Music Society

General Enquiries    0151 794 2959  

Instrumental Tutors

Bhattacharjee, Mr Nick Classical Flute
Buckle, Mr Ian Classical Piano
Burville, Ms Mandy Classical Clarinet
Cowen, Simon Classical Lower Brass
Evans, Jane Classical Oboe
Frampton, Ashley Classical Double Bass
Harland, Rachel Classical Voice
Iveson, Mr Colin Classical Voice
Jones, Gethyn Classical Cello
Kimmance, Mr Tom Classical Voice
Lea, Richard Classical  Organ
Palmer, Mr Matthew Classical Trumpet
Slominska, Ms Fiona Classical Flute
Steinmetz, Mr Tony Classical Guitar
Thorpe, Mr Tom Classical Saxophone
Van Ingen, Mrs Judith Classical Violin
Winter, Mr Richard Classical Percussion
Yates, Sam Classical Horn
Bailey, Mr John Popular Guitar
Bowry, Mr Carlo Popular Guitar
Culshaw, Mr Gary Popular Bass Guitar
Dunsmore, Ms Maria Popular Voice
Empsall, Mr Dan Popular Guitar
Gelling, Mr Simon Popular Guitar
Johnson, Mr Robert Popular Guitar
Kelly, Mr Brian Popular Guitar
Lewis, Mr Adam Popular Bass Guitar
Moss, Mr Thomas Popular Piano/Keyboard
Pirnbaum, Mr Tilo Popular Drums
Smith, Ms Kate Popular Voice
Taft, Mr Paul Popular Voice
Taft, Mrs Anne Popular Voice