The VISION research logo

Research team

Led by Prof Fiona Rowe, our multidisciplinary team includes:

Prof Fiona Rowe VISION Group Lead, Professor of Orthoptics in the Institute of Population Health
Mr Jim Currie PCPIE Advisor, Different Stroke
Dr Kerry Hanna Lecturer, Division of Orthoptics
Mr Brin Helliwell PCPIE advisor
Dr Lauren Hepworth Research Fellow, Institute of Population Health
Dr Claire Howard Institute of Population Health and Specialist Orthoptist, Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust
Ms Carmel Noonan Honorary Lecturer, Institute of Population Health and Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon, Aintree University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
Ms Janet Rockliffe PCPIE Advisor, Speakability
Ms Kholoud Alwashmi PhD Student, Institute of Population Health
Dr Laura Wright SEARCH Trial coordinator 
Miss Michaela Sherlock  PhD Student
Mr Sean Gallagher PhD Student



We have multiple collaborations with NHS Trusts and Universities across the UK, including:

  • Aintree University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • Aneurin Bevan University Health Board
  • Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board
  • Blackpool, Fylde and Wyre Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Derby Hospitals NHS Trust; Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust
  • East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust; Pennine Acute NHS Trust
  • Frimley Park NHS Trust
  • Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust
  • NHS Ayrshire and Arran
  • Oxford Radcliffe Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Royal United Hospitals Bath NHS Trust
  • Royal Wolverhampton NHS Trust
  • Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust
  • Sandwell and West Birmingham NHS Trust
  • Sheffield Teaching Hospitals Foundation Trust
  • St Helen's and Knowsley NHS Trust
  • Swindon and Marlborough NHS Trust
  • Taunton and Somerset NHS Trust
  • United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust
  • University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust
  • University Hospitals Dorset
  • University Hospital NHS Trust, Nottingham
  • University of Manchester
  • University of Nottingham
  • University of Salford
  • Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh NHS Trust