Globally renowned research and teaching

The School of Physical Sciences brings together the research and teaching of three departments, Department of Physics, Department of Chemistry and Department of Mathematical Sciences, within the University of Liverpool.

Our Departments

Within the University of Liverpool. We also run ground-breaking institutes and centres of excellence.

Research and Innovation activity at the School is constantly making headlines. We are key members of global collaborations such as CERN, work with industry and are pioneers in fields such as renewable energy, financial maths and astrophysics.

Currently we directly employ 118 academic staff, many of whom are leading research experts in their fields. A high proportion are also trained educators who regularly teach our students.

Over 2,000 people are pursuing their studies here at undergraduate and Masters levels, in Chemistry, Physics or Mathematics. Additionally we have a thriving community of postgraduate research students.

As a research-led Russell Group University we attract substantial research income and are investing in new institutes and centres, chairs and lectureships, education programmes, facilities and people.

The School has recently received an Athena SWAN silver award.

If you are looking for an inspiring environment for your studies or research, we look forward to welcoming you here.

Back to: School of Physical Sciences