The Great Wall of China point of view into the horizon

Mandarin Language Courses

The Liverpool Confucius Institute teaches Chinese Mandarin through a series of online courses, including HSK (1-4), Children's Mandarin (YCT), as well as bespoke one-to-one classes with our friendly tutors.

Keep an eye on our webpages, follow us on Instagram or Twitter, or email to sign up to our newsletter to stay informed of our courses and events. 

HSK Courses

HSK Online Courses Spring Term 2024

The Confucius Institute of University of Liverpool has launched a range of HSK courses running during Spring Term. HSK courses consist of 10 weeks teaching overall. It has an online class schedule that consists of 10 weeks of online classes (two sessions, 3h/week in total), providing a structured and balanced approach to language learning. Please see the breakdown of the teaching schedule in course description for more details.

Course Description  

This range of courses are mapped with Levels 1 to 4 in the framework of the HSK, they are designed to take learners from a beginner to a post-intermediate stage of Chinese Mandarin.

You will be expected to commit to 3h of online study and 4-5 hours for self-study each week to ensure you can follow the pace of the course.  

Take time to read the course descriptions of each level and decide on the right level for you before heading to our enrolment section.

All levels of courses have an online class schedule that consists of 10 weeks of online classes.

Full details (including course description and registration)

See more information about the HSK Test.

Children's Elementary Mandarin Class

The University of Liverpool Confucius Institute is launching an in-person, 10-week Mandarin Chinese language course for school-age children on Fridays between 4pm and 6pm. 

The language class is suitable for primary school students aged 6-10 years old in the Liverpool area. The students should have achieved the upper beginner level; i.e., they can introduce themselves simply with personal details such as where they are from, people they know, and use basic greetings. 

We will teach the textbook "YCT" STANDARD COURSE 2 Unit 1-5. We hope to give students a good foundation in Chinese Mandarin language, so that they can be able to read 110-115 commonly used Chinese characters, 15 grammar items and 15 function items of YCT level 2 and improve their Chinese expression skills. 

We also aim to give the students a foundation in Chinese culture by introducing activities such as Chinese calligraphy and handcraft. 

We can arrange for the students to take the Youth Chinese Test after they finish the "YCT" STANDARD COURSE 2. The test is an international standardized test of Chinese proficiency by Hanban. 

Please note that, due to safeguarding policies, parents must remain onsite for the duration of each lesson. 

Dates: 26 April 2024 — 5 July 2024
There’s no class during half-term. 

  • 26 April 
  • 3 May 
  • 10 May 
  • 17 May 
  • 24 May 
  • 7 June 
  • 14 June 
  • 21 June 

Full details (including course description and registration)

One-to-one tuition - Online/In-person 

Online or in-person at the LCI Space, 126 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool, L69 3GR.

  • Suitable for beginners and intermediate learners
  • £15/hr for UoL students, alumni and staff or £20/hr for the general public
  • Email and to check tutor availability
  • One-to-one courses will be taught over a minimum of five lessons per student
  • Sessions are subject to tutor availability (we recommend booking early in the semester to avoid disappointment)

I have learned so much with the fantastic LCI Tutors and Professional Services staff, whilst studying Chinese Mandarin on the HSK course!

HSK LCI Student Nari

Back to: Confucius Institute