Stephenson Institute for Renewable Energy at the University of Liverpool

People - Stephenson Institute for Renewable Energy

Professor Laurence Hardwick



Ms Jackie Parkinson
Admin support

+44 (0)151 795 8137

Vasey, Mr Vincent

+44 (0)151 795 8128

Academic Staff

Alaria, Dr Jonathan

+44 (0)151 794 3366

Oxides, magnetic and thermoelectrics

Blanc, Dr Frédéric

+44 (0)151 794 3511

NMR spectrscopy

Cowan, Dr Alexander

+44 (0)151 794 3481

Electro and photo catalytics conversion

Dhanak, Professor Vin

+44 (0)151 795 0534/1

Electronic structure of advanced materials

Durose, Professor Ken

+44 (0)151 795 9048

PV materials and devices

Grunder, Dr Yvonne 

+44 (0)151 795 2156

Fundamental electrochemistry

Hasell, Dr Thomas
Royal Society Research Fellow

+44 (0)151 794 3502

Sulfur polymers and functional materials

Hardwick, Professor Laurence

+44 (0)151 794 3493


Jaeckel, Dr Frank

+44 (0)151 795 2283


Lopez-Sanchez, Professor Tony

+44 (0)151 794 3535

Bio-chemicals and catalytic conversion

Major, Dr Jon
EPSRC Research Fellow

+44 (0)151 795 9049

PV materials and devices

Mumtaz, Dr Asim
Lecturer and Academic Manager - CDT-PV

+44 (0)151 795 7565

PV materials and devices

Sergeev, Dr Alexey

+44 (0)151 794 2665 Novel catalytic transformations

Shchukin, Professor Dmitry

+44 (0)151 795 2304


Veal, Professor Tim

+44 (0)151 794 3872

Semiconductor physics

Vezzoli, Dr Andrea

  Molecular Technologies for Energy Conversion 

Research Staff




Apollo, Mr Manuel Durose Group

Baggio, Miss Bruna Grunder Group

Bei, Dr Qian Shchukin Group

Braga Nogueira, Dr Filipe Hardwick Group

Chan, Dr Antony Sergeev Group

Forster, Dr Mark Cowan Group

Galloway, Dr Thomas Hardwick Group 

Gardner, Dr Adrian Cowan Group 

Graham, Dr Michael Shchukin Group 

Gupta, Dr Jyoti Hardwick Group 

Harvey, Dr Daniel Shchukin Group 

Hutter, Dr Oliver Durose Group

Kasina, Dr Angeline Lucas Group

Nadeem, Qurat Shchukin Group 

Neale, Dr Alex Hardwick Group 

Neri, Dr Gaia Cowan Group 

Phillips, Dr Laurie Major Group

Shchukina, Dr Elena Shchukin Group 

Wall, Dr Glenda
SOLBAT Project Manager Hardwick Group 

Zheng, Dr Zhaoliang Shchukin Group 

Zhou, Dr Yundong Hardwick Group 

Postgraduate students



Primary Supervisor

Antonatos, Nikolaos

Yvonne Grunder

Baines, Tom

Jon Major

Bashal, Ali H

Tony Lopez-Sanchez

Beane, Jack

Chris Lucas

Bennett, Rhys

Alex Cowan

Brownbill, Nick

Frederic Blanc

Cheung, Daniel

Dmitry Shchukin

Coca Clemente, Jose Antonio

Laurence Hardwick

Duff, Ben

Frederic Blanc

Edwards, Holly

Vin Dhanak

Endot, Nor Azam

Tony Lopez-Sanchez

Featherstone, Thomas

Tim Veal

Fernandez Gimenez, Marta Alexey Sergeev

Fleck, Nicole Frank Jaeckel

Gao, Hui Laurence Hardwick

Garcia Osorio, Dora Alex Cowan

Gatti, Claudia

Dmitry Shchukin

Gibbon, James

Vin Dhanak

Gonzalez Yanez, Edgar

Tony Lopez-Sanchez

Greeves, Ben

Alex Cowan

Griffiths, Ben

Frederic Blanc

Hannah, Adrian

Vin Dhanak

Hobson, Theo Ken Durose

Horne, Joseph Frank Jaeckel

Hughes, Ashlea Frederic Blanc

Jakoobi, Martin Alexey Sergeev

Leaver, Jacob Ken Durose

Lewis, Scott

Laurence Hardwick

Lomeli Rodriguez, Monica

Tony Lopez-Sanchez

Lu, Yi-Ting

Laurence Hardwick

Mariotti, Silvia

Ken Durose

Mensa, Stefano

Gilberto Teobaldi

Michailidis, Marios

Dmitry Shchukin

Mohamad Noh, Nadiah

Tony Lopez-Sanchez

Morris, Gareth Frank Jaeckel

Murgatroyd, Philip Jonathan Alaria

O'Dowd, Graeme Frank Jaeckel

Padilla, Romen

Tony Lopez-Sanchez

Perez Mejia, Javier Eduardo

Tony Lopez-Sanchez

Piercy, Verity

Alex Cowan

Pugliese, Andrea

Frederic Blanc

Reichenbach, Lena Yvonne Grunder

Rhodes-Martin, Lisa Yvonne Grunder

Robinson, Aris Laurence Hardwick

Saeed, Khezar Alex Cowan

Salami, Hammed

Tony Lopez-Sanchez

Shalvey, Thomas

Jon Major

Shiel, Huw

Tim Veal

Smiles, Matthew

Ken Durose

Smith, Charlotte Alex Cowan

Smith, James Dmitry Shchukin

Stoner, Jessica

Jonathan Alaria

Swallow, Jack Tim Veal

Thomas, Luke Ken Durose

Thomas, Will Matthew Rosseinsky
Tustain, Katherine Lucy Clark

Vega Herrera, David

Tony Lopez-Sanchez

Voyce, Olivia

Tim Veal

Whitley, Conor David Martin

Xiao, Dong Frederic Blanc

Zhu, Xiaolei

Dmitry Shchukin