Dr Dan Hungerford PhD MBIolSci (Hons) PGDipPH AFHEA

Lecturer in Health Protection Epidemiology and NIHR Post-doctoral Fellow Clinical Infection, Microbiology & Immunology


Personal Statement

I am an infectious disease epidemiologist with expertise in gastrointestinal infections and vaccines, in relation to health inequalities. I hold a NIHR Post-doctoral Fellowship, and I am lecturer in the NIHR Health Protection Research Unit in Gastrointestinal Infections at the University of Liverpool. I hold the role of People and Places Theme Lead within the NIHR Health Protection Research Unit in Gastrointestinal Infections, where we look to explore socio-economic, environment and behavioural factors in gastrointestinal infections.

My main research interests also involve the use of "real world" big data for vaccine evaluations and effectiveness studies, focusing on respiratory and diarrhoeal disease.

My current NIHR Fellowship is multi-disciplinary, combining epidemiology, laboratory science and modelling to predict risk of rotavirus diarrhoea in vaccinated children. Alongside my fellowship, I am leading the field work for the Liverpool household COVID-19 community cohort study, COVID-LIV; part of Liverpool’s response to COVID-19.

I lead the European Rotavirus Surveillance Network (EuroRotaNet) and I am Theme lead for Measuring the Value of Vaccines at the Centre for Global Vaccine Research.

Previously I worked for Public Health England, specialising in infectious disease surveillance and outbreak investigation and LJMU, Centre for Public Health, developing the Trauma and Injury Intelligence Group surveillance system.

Prizes or Honours

  • Finalist: Taking Research into Practice for "Reducing susceptibility to measles" (North West Coast Innovation Awards , 2018)
  • Winner: Delivering Research in Collaboration 2017 for “Reducing childhood illness through improved vaccination uptake” ( North West Coast Innovation Awards, 2017)

Funded Fellowships

  • Post-Doctoral Fellowship (National Institute for Health Research, 2019 - 2022)