Research and Impact Committee

Committee description

Secretary: Michelle Keeley-Adamson, Email: 

The Committee is a committee of Council and should act on Council’s behalf to do detailed work and thinking in the following relevant areas:

  1. To be responsible to the Senate and the Council for the implementation of the Research and Impact key priorities of the University’s Strategic Plan and for this purpose to liaise with other relevant committees.
  2. To oversee the development and implementation of strategies, policies and frameworks within planning units designed to promote research at international and world-leading standards across all disciplines in the University. To oversee the enhancement of the University research environment in support of these objectives, including research staff development and consideration of the PGR student experience.
  3. In collaboration with the University’s Education Committee, to oversee and monitor performance of strategies and plans to enhance the Student Experience of the University’s Postgraduate Research (PGR) students.
  4. To oversee the implementation and roll-out at Faculty level of the University of Liverpool Research and Impact Strategy - to be proactive in supporting and identifying research areas or themes in which the University might further develop capacity.
  5. To monitor detail and comment on performance and risk in relation to research and impact.
  6. To contribute to the setting of strategic direction and institutional planning parameters as part of the Planning and Performance Cycle. To comment upon planning unit strategies in respect of their contribution to achieving institutional research and impact ambitions.
  7. To continue to raise the profile of impact and knowledge exchange as a core activity of the University and to develop and promote policies to enhance the University’s activities in this area in line with Strategy 2031
  8. To advise the Planning and Resources Committee on resourcing issues related to the resourcing of research, impact and knowledge exchange.

Reporting Relationships

The Research and Impact Committee reports to Senate and Council and to Finance and Resources Committee in relation to planning and resource allocation matters.

Frequency of Meetings

The Research and Impact Committee usually meets on four occasions during the academic year.


The quorum for meetings of the Research and Impact Committee shall be one third of the membership, including at least one lay member of the Council.

Members or key people

Ex Officio Members
The Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research and Impact (Chair) Professor Anthony Hollander
The Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Global Engagement and Partnerships Professor Tariq Ali
The Executive Pro-Vice-Chancellors*
Health and Life Sciences Professor Louise Kenny
Humanities and Social Sciences Professor Fiona Beveridge
Science and Engineering Professor Wiebe van der Hoek
The Associate Pro-Vice-Chancellors for Research and Impact*
Health and Life Sciences Professor Claire Eyers
Humanities and Social Sciences Professor Farida Vis
Science and Engineering Dr Laura Harkness Brennan
The Associate Pro-Vice-Chancellor for the Research Environment and Postgraduate Research Professor Georgina Endfield
The Director of Research, Partnerships and Innovation Sarah Jackson
Head of Research and Impact Strategy Julia Keyton
The University Librarian Dr Matthew Greenhall
Director of Strategic Planning Phil Hopwood
Appointed Members
Lay members of the Council, appointed by Council Mark Proctor (2023-2026)
  Dr Kashmir Gill (2023 – 2026)
  Barry Flynn (2023 – 2026)
Student Representative Officer Rowan Bradbury
A post-doctoral colleague representative Dr Rishav Agarwal

*Either EPVCs or APVCs can attend

At the request of the Chair, the following members will be asked to attend meetings as and when required:

The Director of External Relations, Marketing and Communication Tim Seamans
Director, The Academy James Howard

Other members may be co-opted or invited to attend for specific meetings at the discretion of the Committee.

Meeting dates

  • 19 October 2023, 1.00 pm
  • 9 January 2024, 2.00 pm
  • 7 March 2024, 2.00 pm
  • 12 June 2024, 1.00 pm

A full schedule of Committee meeting dates can be viewed here.