Heritage, Arts and Culture Committee

Committee description

Secretary: Michelle Keeley-Adamson, mkeeley@liverpool.ac.uk 

Terms of Reference

a)    To develop and promote a unified strategy for the preservation and making best use of all aspects of the University’s heritage collections and cultural activities, and in particular to promote and facilitate the use of these:

•    to the benefit of the University’s teaching and research activities;
•    to the benefit of the University’s engagement with the Liverpool City Region and its cultural life.

b)    To monitor performance against this strategy.

c)    To oversee the University’s relationship with major cultural organisations in the Liverpool City Region and further afield.

d)    To approve policies relating to the University’s collections including the requirements of accreditation or future similar schemes.

e)    To approve proposals for new public exhibitions (physical and online) within Libraries, Museums and Galleries, (including in the Victoria Gallery & Museum and Special Collections & Archives), referring matters to the University’s Formal Senior Leadership Team where required.

Reporting Relationship

The Heritage, Arts and Culture Committee reports to the Formal Senior Leadership Team.

The Heritage, Arts and Culture Committee will receive reports from the following stakeholder groups:

•    The Garstang Museum
•    The Institute for Popular Music.

Frequency of Meetings

The Heritage, Arts and Culture Committee usually meets on four occasions during the academic year.


The quorum for meetings of the Heritage, Arts and Culture Committee shall one third of the membership.

Members or key people

Ex officio members:

Chairv Professor G Endfield
The Associate Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research and Impact (HSS) TBC
The Associate Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Education (HLS) Professor F Watkins
Heritage Research Theme Lead Professor S Bandyopadhyay
The Deputy Director Libraries, Museums and Galleries J Fitton
The Director of Research, Partnerships and Innovation or nominee K Spicer/ K Connell
The Head of Museums & Galleries N Euston
The Director of External Relations or his/her nominee T Seamans
The Managing Director of the Liverpool University Press  A Cond
A Student Representative Officer (nominated annually
by the Guild of Students, from the elected Student Officers)
R Bradbury
Artistic Director to the Tung Auditorium R Hartwell
The Dean of School of Histories, Languages and Cultures Professor A Fell

Appointed members: **

A representative from the Faculty of Humanities and   
Social Sciences
Professor B Gibson
A representative from the Faculty of Science and Engineering Professor T Shears
A representative from the Faculty of Health and Life Sciences Professor G Kemp
A representative of the Liverpool Guild of Students R Dalton
A representative of National Museums Liverpool A Fahy
A representative of Liverpool City Council L Woodbridge
A representative from the Institute of Popular Music Dr M Leonard

Other members may be co-opted or invited to attend for specific meetings at the discretion of the Committee.  This may include representatives from regional partners.

The appointment of the Chair is made by Senior Leadership Team, and will be subject to obtaining the support of the Committee.

** Members in this category shall be appointed for maximum three years, and be eligible for re-appointment when vacancies are advertised.

Meeting dates

  • 21 September 2023, 10.00 am
  • 1 December 2023, 10.00 am
  • 19 March 2024, 10.00 am
  • 18 June 2024, 10.00 am

A full schedule of Committee meeting dates can be viewed here.