Photo of Professor Christos Touramanis

Professor Christos Touramanis B.Sc., Ph.D., C.Phys., F.Inst.P.

Professor of Experimental Particle Physics Physics


    Personal Statement

    At CERN I chair the LHC Resources Scrutiny Group and I am member of the LHC Upgrades Cost Group. I am non-core member of the STFC Science Board, and member of the Council of the University of the Aegean.

    I studied Physics at the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (1982-86) and did my PhD at CERN (1987-92). I held a CERN Fellowship (1994-96) and a PPARC Advanced Research Fellowship (1997-2001). I was appointed Lecturer in the Department of Physics in 2002 and I was awarded a personal chair in 2008. In 2014 I became Professor of Experimental Particle Physics.

    I have contributed directly in the discovery of CP Violation in the B meson system (BABAR, 2002) which resulted in the 2008 Nobel Prize award to Kobayashi and Maskawa. In the same programme I developed a novel method for measuring the Unitarity Triangle angle alpha. I was convener of physics groups and member of the executive committee.

    My current research area is neutrino physics. I established the Liverpool neutrino group in 2004. Currently (2015) the group has five academics and a number of research and technical staff and PhD students. Our research portfolio comprises mostly neutrino oscillation experiments. We are members in international projects in Japan (T2K, data taking), Canada (SNO+, in construction) and the USA (DUNE, in planning; SBND, in construction).

    In T2K I was responsible for the Near Detector electromagnetic calorimeter (design, construction, commissioning, operations), analysis co-convener for the Near Detector group, and project manager of the £15M T2K-UK construction project.

    I am also active in Liquid Argon detector R&D and development of security applications mainly for the detection of special nuclear materials and reactor monitoring. I was the University of Liverpool PI in the European Design Studies KM3NeT and LAGUNA-LBNO. The neutrino group is mainly funded by STFC, the EU, EPSRC, the Royal Society.

    Funded Fellowships

    • PPARC Advanced Research Fellowship (Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council, 1996)
    • CERN Fellowship (European Organization for Nuclear Research, 1993)