Planning and Resources Committee

Committee description

Secretary: Mr Mike Edge, Email:

Terms of Reference

a)      On behalf of the Council, to oversee the governance and management of the University’s affairs.

b)      To be responsible to the Senate and the Council for all strategic academic and non-academic planning, including financial and human resources, and value for money, and to advise the Senate and the Council thereon.

c)      To formulate institutional budgets, activity plans, and frameworks for the management of human resources, and to recommend them for approval to the Council.

d)      To monitor the achievement of strategic plans and institutional budgets.

e)      On behalf of the Council, to oversee the University’s capital programme, with authority to approve capital schemes of a value up to £5m. 

Reporting Relationship

The Planning and Resources Committee reports to the Senate and the Council. 

Frequency of Meetings

The Planning and Resources Committee usually meets on four occasions during the academic year.


The quorum for meetings of the Planning and Resources Committee shall be four members, including at least two lay members of the Council.

Members or key people

The President of the Council (Chair) Mrs C Booth
The Vice-Chancellor  Professor Dame Janet Beer
Four other lay members of the Council appointed by the Council Mr E Fishwick (2020-23)
  Dr P Johnson (2020-23)
  Mrs H Miller (2018-21)
  Mr N Molyneux (2018-21)
Two Pro-Vice-Chancellors nominated by the Vice-Chancellor  Professor G Brown
  Professor A Hollander
The Director of Finance Ms N Davies 
The Director of People and Services Dr C Costello

Other members of the Senior Leadership Team may attend the Committee as required.

Meeting dates

  • 3 November 2020, 11.00 am
  • 12 January 2021, 2.00 pm
  • 9 March 2021, 10.00 am
  • 15 June 2021, 2.00 pm

A full schedule of Committee meeting dates can be viewed here.