PGR Committee

Committee description

Secretary: Michelle Keeley-Adamson, Email:

Terms of Reference

a)    To be responsible to the Senate for the oversight and monitoring performance of the University’s strategies and plans in relation to postgraduate research (PGR) programmes and students.

b)    To consider proposed revisions to University Ordinances, Regulations, Policies and Procedures for postgraduate research students and programmes, and to make recommendations.

c)    To consider all issues relating to the quality assurance and enhancement of postgraduate research degree programmes and report to the relevant University committees.

d)    To receive reports and recommendations where appropriate from the Liverpool Doctoral College on matters such as arrangements for PGR skills training and supervisor training; PGR community development; PGR placements; PGR marketing and communications; PGR student feedback and PGR fees and funding.

e)    To receive reports from Faculty PGR Committees on relevant matters.

f)    To receive copies of relevant reports to PGR student funding bodies.

g)    To oversee all aspects of PGR collaborative provision, including approving the renewal of collaborative arrangements and referring information to the relevant University committees.

h)    To oversee the University’s interactions with external bodies in relation to quality assurance matters, e.g. Office for Students (OfS), QAA.

Committee Relationships

The PGR Committee will report to Senate and refer issues to the Research and Impact Committee, the Education Committee and other groups as required.

Frequency of Meetings

The PGR Committee usually meets on four occasions during the academic year.


The quorum for meetings of the PGR Committee shall be one quarter of the membership.

Members or key people

Constitution and Membership for Session 2022/23


 Professor Georgina Enfield

Faculty Directors of Postgraduate Research:


    Humanities and Social Sciences   


Dr Ross McGarry (from February 2023)

    Health and Life Sciences

Dr Neil Blake

    Science and Engineering

Dr James Cooper

Liverpool Doctoral College Manager

Stephen Bickerstaff

Student Guild Representatives



Ella Hatch

Lina Dubbins

Representatives of the Academic Quality and

Standards Division 

Ms Trish Barker and Ms Liz Dixon

A PGR Development/Training Representative


Dr Eli Saetnan

Head of Open Research, Libraries, Galleries & Museums

 Martin Wolf

Student Administration Representative

Dr Paula Harrison

Faculty PGR Administrative Leads:


    Humanities and Social Sciences

Hayley Meloy

    Health and Life Sciences

Lisa Crimmins

    Science and Engineering

Lee Kelsall








The Pro-Vice Chancellor for Research and Impact, and the Pro-Vice Chancellor for Education will attend when required.

Other members may be co-opted or invited to attend for specific meetings at the discretion of the Committee.

A deputy should attend the Committee in the event that a Committee member is unavailable.



Meeting dates

  • 10 October 2022, 2.00 pm
  • 16 January 2023, 2.00 pm
  • 1 March 2023, 10.00 am
  • 6 June 2023, 2.00 pm

A full schedule of Committee meeting dates can be viewed here.