Education Committee

Committee description

Secretary: Mr Mike Edge, Email:

Terms of Reference

a)            To be responsible to the Senate and the Council for the implementation of the academic student experience priorities of the University’s Strategic Plan and maintain oversight of the Education Strategy and monitor performance in this area.

b)            To have oversight of all academic aspects of the Student Experience in the University and to promote its ongoing enhancement.

c)            To be responsible to the Senate and the Council for promoting high quality learning and teaching in the University.

d)            To work with the Guild to enhance the academic aspects of the Student Experience.

e)            To highlight and promote innovations and best practice from across the University in learning, teaching and assessment.

f)             To propose the development of new learning and teaching policies and initiatives, to liaise with other committees/bodies about such policies and initiatives and to monitor their implementation and effectiveness.

g)            To receive reports from the Faculties in relation to the implementation of the University’s Education Strategy.

h)            To oversee any funds made available to support and promote learning and teaching, including funds for teaching excellence awards.

i)              To oversee the University’s student representation systems.

j)              To oversee the University’s arrangements for promoting core internal and external surveys to its students and to co-ordinate its response to the outcomes of the surveys.

k)            To oversee the University’s performance on student outcomes, including but not limited to, non-progression and non-completion rates, degree outcomes and student employment outcomes; and to co-ordinate its response to such findings, as well as positioning the University in an optimum place for external assessments.

l)              To commission market research (including student evaluation surveys), to consider the outcomes of such research and to promote appropriate action in response.

m)           To consider relevant aspects of the University’s policies and practices for the promotion of diversity and equality of opportunity among the student population.

n)            To advise the Finance and Resources Committee on resourcing issues related to the academic Student Experience.

o)            To engage in horizon scanning to anticipate and prepare for new opportunities and likely future developments in learning, teaching and assessment.

Reporting Relationships

The Education Committee reports to Senate and Council and to the Finance and Resources Committee in relation to planning and resource allocation matters.

The Guild Liaison Sub-Committee, the Student Success Boards and the Faculty Education Committees report directly to the Education Committee.

Frequency of Meetings

The Education Committee usually meets on four occasions during the academic year.


The quorum for meetings of the Education Committee shall be one quarter of the membership, including at least one lay member of the Council.

Members or key people

Ex officio members:

The Vice-Chancellor Professor Dame Janet Beer
The President of the Council  Mrs C Booth
The Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Education (Chair) Professor G Brown
The Executive Pro-Vice-Chancellors    
   Health and Life Sciences   Professor L Kenny
   Humanities and Social Sciences  Professor F Beveridge
   Science and Engineering  Professor W Van Der Hoek
The Associate Pro-Vice-Chancellors (Education)  
   Health and Life Sciences    Vacant
   Humanities and Social Sciences Professor L Anderson
   Science and Engineering Professor L Sheffield
The Director of Student Experience and Enhancement  Dr P Redmond
The Associate Pro-Vice-Chancellor for the Research Environment and Postgraduate Research Professor S Yates
Two Student Representative Officers (nominated by the Guild) Miss F Thomas
  Ms J Kwajah-Ellimah
The Head of Academic Quality and Standards Division Ms T Barker
The Director of IT Services or his/her nominee  Mr D Lawrence
The Director of the Centre for Innovation in Education Mr S Thomson
The Director of Libraries, Museums and Galleries  Mr P Sykes
The Director of Facilities, Residential and Commercial Services Mr P Marsh (interim)
The Director of Strategic Planning Mr P Hopwood (interim)
The Director of the Leadership, Organisational, Staff and Academic Development Academy Dr J Howard
Strategy Delivery Manager (Education), Strategic Change Team Mrs R Parkes
Strategic Director for Liverpool Online Ms L Evans

Appointed members:

A Further Representative from each Faculty  
   Health and Life Sciences Professor M Speed
   Humanities and Social Sciences Professor C Mallanaphy
   Science and Engineering  Professor F Coenen
Two lay members of the Council, nominated by Council  Mr H van Mourik Broekman (2019-22)  
  Ms C Ankrah-Lucas (2019-22)

Other members may be co-opted or invited to attend for specific meetings at the discretion of the Committee.

The Committee may establish time-limited groups as necessary to deal with pertinent issues.

Meeting dates

  • 20 October 2021, 2.00 pm
  • 18 January 2022, 2.00 pm
  • 3 March 2022, 10.00 am
  • 14 June 2022, 2.00 pm

A full schedule of Committee meeting dates can be viewed here.