Collaborative Provision Committee

Committee description

Secretary: Gill Price, Email:

Terms of Reference

The Committee’s responsibilities and decision-making powers are as follows:

  1. To oversee the quality assurance, monitoring and review of collaborative arrangements, delegating responsibility to Faculties, Schools, Institutes or Departments as appropriate.
  2. To monitor the quality assurance, delivery and management of Degree Apprenticeships and receive reports from the Degree Apprenticeship Steering Group.
  3. To make recommendations to Senate on the renewal and termination of collaborative arrangements.
  4. To approve International Student Exchange Partners for the University of Liverpool and XJTLU.
  5. To advise Senate on the development of procedures relating to the quality assurance of collaborative arrangements, particularly in response to external guidance.
  6. To report to and liaise with, as appropriate, the Postgraduate Research Committee with regards to developments in collaborative postgraduate research arrangements.

Reporting Relationship

The Collaborative Provision Committee reports to Senate.

Frequency of Meetings

The Collaborative Provision Committee usually meets on five occasions during the academic year.


The quorum for meetings of the Collaborative Provision Committee shall be one third of the membership.

Members or key people

Ex-Officio Members

Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Education (Chair) Professor Gavin Brown

Appointed Members

Two representatives from the Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences Professor Lisa Anderson
Ms Liz Crolley
Two representatives from the Faculty of Science & Engineering Dr. Miguel López-Benítez
Professor Joseph Sweeney  
Two representatives from the Faculty of Health & Life Sciences Professor Francine Watkins
Professor Denise Prescott
Director, Liverpool Doctoral College Professor Georgina Endfield
Manager, Liverpool Doctoral College Mr Steve Bickerstaff
Dean, XJTLU Professor Simon Jones
Degree Apprenticeship Manager Ms Jane Edwards
XJTLU Chief Internal Moderator Dr Gita Sedghi
Director, English Language Centre Ms Michelle Dwyer
Student Representative Officer Ms Lina Dubbins
Director, Student Experience & Enhancement Dr Paul Redmond
Director, Academic Quality & Standards Division Ms Trish Barker

Other members may be co-opted or invited to attend for specific meetings at the discretion of the Committee.

The Committee may establish time-limited groups as necessary to deal with pertinent issues.

Invited to Attend

Head of Global Opportunities  Mrs Sarah Husain
Academic Quality Support Officer, XJTLU Mr Alan Smithson
Online Programmes Business and Quality Officer Mrs Joanne Billington
Partnerships Officer, AQSD Ms Gill Murphy
PGR Quality Officer Mrs Liz Dixon
Academic Compliance (Student Administration) Ms Nicola Casson

If non-University staff or University staff who are not members of the Committee wish to attend, then a formal written request must be made to the Chair who will then decide whether the attendance at the meeting is appropriate.

A deputy should attend the Committee in the event that a Committee member is unavailable.

Meeting dates

  • 3 October 2023, 10.00 am
  • 14 December 2023, 2.00 pm
  • 2 February 2024, 10.00 am
  • 17 April 2024, 10.00 am
  • 4 July 2024, 2.00 pm

A full schedule of Committee meeting dates can be viewed here.