Academic Quality and Standards Committee

Committee description

Secretary: Liz McAleer, Email:

Terms of Reference

The Committee’s responsibilities and decision-making powers are as follows:

  1. To oversee the development, implementation, monitoring and approval of the University’s policies and procedures for assuring and enhancing the quality and standards of its learning, teaching and assessment.
  2. To approve requests for exemption from the Code of Practice on Assessment and make recommendations to Senate in response to new or revised Ordinances.
  3. To oversee the University’s interactions with the relevant external bodies responsible for quality assurance, including professional and statutory bodies with responsibility for accrediting the University’s taught programmes, and the Higher Education Academy.

Reporting Relationship

The Academic Quality and Standards Committee reports to Senate, and refers matters to the Education Committee as appropriate.

Frequency of Meetings

The Academic Quality and Standards Committee usually meets on four occasions during the academic year.


The quorum for meetings of the Academic Quality and Standards Committee shall be one third of the membership.

Members or key people

Ex-Officio Members

Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Education (Chair) Professor Gavin Brown
Director of Academic Quality and Standards Division Ms Trish Barker
Director of Student Life (or nominee) Ms Nicola Casson (nominee)
The Librarian (or nominee) Mrs Lisa Hawksworth (nominee)
Director of The Academy Dr James Howard
Director of IT Services (or nominee) Mrs Nikki Keggin (nominee)
Head of Careers and Employability Mr Iwan Williams
Guild of Students Representative Miss Lina Dubbins

Appointed Members

Faculty of Health and Life Sciences

Professor Alex German
Dr Stuart MacKay
Professor Francine Watkins
Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Professor Lisa Anderson
Dr Andrew Plowman
Dr Kerry Traynor
Faculty of Science and Engineering

Dr Joel Haddley
Dr David Hutchcroft
Professor Joe Sweeney

Other members may be co-opted or invited to attend for specific meetings at the discretion of the Committee.

The Committee may establish time-limited groups as necessary to deal with pertinent issues.

Invited to Attend

Chair of OPOG – Mr Nick Greer

If non-University staff or University staff who are not members of the Committee wish to attend, then a formal written request must be made to the Chair who will then decide whether the attendance at the meeting is appropriate.

A deputy should attend the Committee in the event that a Committee member is unavailable.

Meeting dates

  • 23 November 2023, 10.00 am
  • 15 February 2024, 10.00 am
  • 1 May, 10.00 am
  • 6 June 2024, 10.00 am

A full schedule of Committee meeting dates can be viewed here.