The Environmental Sciences Athena SWAN Team

The Athena SWAN is a national charter recognising commitment to women’s career development in science, engineering and technology. The charter works to further and support equality and diversity for staff and students in higher education.

The University has held a silver award since 2016. The School of Environmental Sciences is devoted to promoting gender equality, and we successfully achieved a silver award in April 2019.

Committee Members





Dr Heather Sangster
Dr Morag Rose

Lecturer in Geography

Lecturer in Human Geography

Deputy Chair

Dr Rachel Jeffreys

Senior Lecturer in Ecology and Marine Biology

Senior Management Team representatives

Prof Richard Chiverrell

HoD Geography and Planning

Prof Doug Mair

Dean of School

Ms Verity Foster

Head of Operations

Prof Tony Payne

Head of Earth, Ocean & Ecological Sciences

Dr Fabienne Marret-Davies

Reader in Environmental Sciences

Ms Lindsay Davies

Management Services Team Leader

Ms Claire Rimmer

Student Experience Team Leader

Professional Services
DEIC lead

Ms Colette Campbell

MS administrator and PA to Heads of Department 

Management Services rep

Mr Matthew Davies

Administrative assistant

Technical team representative

Mr Elliot Hurst

Research technician, Geomagnetism


Ms Rebecca Prescott

MS co-ordinator

UG student rep



PGT student reps

Ms Millie Goddard-Dwyer
Ms Lucy Goodwin

PG in Marine Biology

PG in Marine Biology

Full time academic staff representatives

Dr Stephen Jay

Reader in Marine Planning

Dr James Lea

Reader, UKRI Future leaders fellow

Dr Janine Kavanagh

Senior Lecturer in Earth Sciences, Volcanology



Dr Ruth Cheung-Judge

Lecturer in Human Geography


Dr Kasey Clark

Lecturer in Environmental Change

Part-time academic staff representatives

Dr Heather Sangster

Lecturer in Geography


Dr Hannah Griffiths

Earth, Ocean and Ecological Sciences

Dr Shelda-Jane Smith

Geography and Planning