Equality, Diversity and Inclusion group

The School of Physical Sciences endeavours to be an inclusive and supportive environment where everyone can flourish, excel, and realise their full potential. We will achieve this by developing strategy to tackle issues of equality, diversity and inclusion and by upholding our responsibilities under equality and diversity legislation, the principles of the Race Equality Charter, JUNO, and the Athena SWAN Charter.

Terms of Reference

  • To develop an inclusive and supportive environment across the School in which every member of staff and every student can realise their full potential
  • To develop strategy in relation to issues of equality and diversity in the School
  • To be aware of responsibilities under equality and diversity legislation.
  • To uphold the principles of the Race Equality Charter by advancing race equality and developing an active anti-racist stance
  • To implement the School’s Athena SWAN action plan and help to prepare an Athena SWAN application.


Department of Chemistry

Department of Mathematical Sciences

Department of Physics

Race Equality Officer (5/7/21 onwards), The Academy

NameRole and Department
Prof Karl Coleman Dean of the School of Physical Sciences - EDI Co-Chair
Mrs Louise Hobson Head of Operations, School of Physical Sciences
Dr Gita Sedghi School Academic EDI Lead, Department of Chemistry
Hannah Melia Secretary
Dan Lawrence Athena SWAN Coordinator
Prof Neil Berry Head of Department of Chemistry
Dr John Ward Department of Chemistry -EDI Lead
Sam Chong Department of Chemistry - EDI Co-Lead
Prof Rachel Bearon Head of Department of Mathematical Sciences
Dr David Marti-Pete Department of Mathematical Sciences - EDI Lead
Prof Tim Veal Head of Department of Physics
Prof Neil McCauley Department of Physics - EDI Lead
Brianna Heazelwood Department of Physics - EDI Co-Lead
Prof Corina Constantinescu Department of Mathematical Sciences
Kamila Zychaluk Department of Mathematical Sciences 
Paolo Beltrame Department of Physics  
Maksymilian Roman Department of Physics 
Christina Lindstrom Management Services Team leader
Joseph Ferguson Content Designer and Communications Officer
Shiho Kobayashi  
Alena Hadley  

If you wish to raise any Equality and Diversity issues with the group please email

Back to: School of Physical Sciences