Committee description

Council is the University’s governing body, and has ultimate responsibility for the management of the University, its status as a body in receipt of public funds, and its status as an exempt Charity. It has a membership of 21, including, senior managers, representatives of Senate and the Professional Services, the President of the Guild of Students and a member of the student body, and a majority of lay members (who are neither employees nor students of the University). Members of Council are Charitable Trustees, subject to the obligations this imposes under charity law.

The President of Council is drawn from the lay membership and chairs its meetings. The current President of Council is Carmel Booth.

Council has four business meetings a year, and two Away Days. 

Primary responsibilities

Council’s powers and duties are detailed in Statute 9 of the University’s Statutory Framework.

Members or key people

Clerk to the Council: Kevan Ryan

Ex officio members

The Vice-Chancellor Professor Tim Jones
The Provost & Deputy Vice-Chancellor Professor Richard Black
The President of the Guild of Students Vasiliki Samuels

Thirteen lay members (including the President and Vice-President of the Council) appointed by the Council

Cilla Ankrah-Lucas, CQSW (2022-2025)
Carmel Booth, BA, FCA (2023-2026) (President)
Dr Alison Campbell, OBE, BSc, PhD, RTTP, DiplOD (2023-2026)
Dr Mark Carawan, BA, PhD (2023-2026)
Fiona Cullen, BA (2023-2026)
Barry Flynn, BSc, ACA, MBA (2022-2025)
Dr Kashmir Gill, PEng, PhD (2023-2026)
Vanessa Griffiths, MA (2023-2026)
Helen Miller, BA, CIPD (2021-2024)
Mark Proctor, CBE, MEng, CEng, FICheme, MBA (2023-2026)
Matthew Reed, BEng, MA, MSc (2023-2026)
Hans van Mourik Broekman, MA (2023-2026) (Vice-President)
Dr Diana Walford, CBE, MA, MD, BSc, MSc, FRCP, FRCPath, FFPH (2022-2025)

Three members of the Senate, two appointed by the Council on the recommendation of the Nominations Committee and one elected from and by Senate’s elected membership

Professor Julia Balogun, BSc, PhD, MBA (appointed 2021-2024)
Professor Hazel Scott, MBChB, MD, FRCP, PFHEA (appointed 2022-2025)
Professor Thomas Teubner, Dr. rer. nat. (elected 2023-2026)

One member of the Professional Services staff appointed by the Council on the recommendation of the Nominations Committee

Kieran O'Sullivan, BA (appointed 2021-2024)

One member of the student body

Kathryn Manley (2023-2024)

Meeting dates

Dates for the 2023-24 session are as follows:

  • 28 September 2023, Away Day
  • 24 November 2023, 2.00 pm
  • 6 February 2024, 2.00 pm
  • 10 April 2024, Away Day
  • 24 May 2024, 2.00 pm
  • 10 July 2024, 12.30 pm

A full schedule of Committee meeting dates can be viewed here.


You can download the unreserved minutes of our Council's recent business meetings below:

Please note that minutes of meetings are not published online until they have been formally approved by the Committee at its next meeting.