Islands of Innovation

Islands of Innovation 2022

We are pleased to announce our free, online global event: the Islands of Innovation festival on Tuesday 10 May 2022. The festival aims to connect educators, educational developers and learning technologists across the globe in order to share educational innovations and co-create an imagined future of education.

The event will take place between 08:00 – 18:30 (BST) on Tuesday 10 May 2022 (07:00 - 17.30 UTC) and will consist of three separate events each lasting 2.5 hours. So, no matter where you are located across the globe, you can participate in at least one of the three events.

During the day you will have an opportunity to meet like-minded professionals, share and exchange innovative practices and engage in stimulating debates and ideas about future innovative practice in education. As part of the festival, we are going to provide some examples of educational innovations via our Island Market Hall on themes including:

  • Assessment and feedback
  • Building learning communities
  • Digital innovations
  • Ethics & values
  • Learning theories & pedagogies
  • Student-centred learning

How can I register? 

Step 1. Please check the session start for each event and select the best one for your time zone (see table below).

Step 2. Register a place for the event on your selected time zone via Eventbrite by 8th May 2022 for registration.

  • Time zone 1 – UTC 07.00 - 9.30
  • Time zone 2 – UTC 11.00 - 13.30
  • Time zone 3 – UTC 15.00 - 17.30 

 

10th May 2022

Time zone 1
 (START TIME) Duration: 2.5 hours

Time zone 2
 (START TIME)
Duration: 2.5 hours

Time zone 3
 (START TIME)
Duration: 2.5
hours

Canada - Calgary

01:00

05:00

09:00

Peru - Lima

02:00

06:00

10:00

UTC

07:00

11:00

15:00

United Kingdom - Liverpool

08:00

12:00

16:00

South Africa - Cape Town

09:00

13:00

17:00

United Arab Emirates - Dubai

11:00

15:00

19:00

China - Suzhou

15:00

19:00

23:00

Australia - Melbourne

17:00

21:00

01:00 (Wed 11th)

Step 3. Add the event to your diary using the 'add to calendar' function in your confirmation email.

Step 4. Joining instructions will be sent nearer the date.

Please note, there are only limited places available – this is so that we can get the maximum experience from the online event on our chosen digital platform. In case of the event becoming full, we will operate a waiting list.

Join the conversation on Twitter using our hashtag #CIEIslands22 and download our Islands of Innovation 2022 booklet. If you have any queries or would like to request further information please email cie@liverpool.ac.uk 

Members of the Organising Committee (also known as Islanders)

The festival is organised by a global committee, and hosted by the Centre for Innovation in Education, University of Liverpool.

Alex Spiers

London School of Economics

UK

Alice Kim

Teaching and Learning Research In Action; University of Guelph-Humber

Canada

Becky Atkinson

University of Liverpool

UK

Charlie Reis

XJTLU

China

Chris Loxham

University of Liverpool

UK

David Watson

University of Liverpool

UK

Dawne Irving-Bell

Edge Hill University

UK

Erika Smith

Mount Royal University

Canada

Joel Haddley

University of Liverpool

UK

John Brindle

University of Liverpool

UK

Karl Gimblett

University of Liverpool

UK

Mary Jacob

Aberystwyth University

Wales

Natasha Taylor

Collarts (Australian College of the Arts)

Australia

Phindile Shangase

University of the Free State

South Africa

Rob Lindsay

University of Liverpool

UK

Sue Beckingham

Sheffield Hallam University

UK

Tunde Varga-Atkins

University of Liverpool

UK

Vicki Dale

University of Glasgow

UK

Virna Rossi

Ravensbourne University

UK

William Machacha

British Council

Peru

Yu (Lissy) Wang

XJTLU

China

 

Back to: Centre for Innovation in Education