University engineers celebrate Royal Aeronautical Society (RAeS) award success

Published on


University of Liverpool engineering staff scooped five prizes at the Royal Aeronautical Society (RAeS) annual awards which honour achievement and innovation in the aerospace community.

The Royal Aeronautical Society Awards ceremony, held in London on Thursday 14th  December, recognises and celebrates individuals and teams who have made an  exceptional contribution in the aerospace, aviation or space industries, whether it is for an outstanding achievement, a major technical innovation, exceptional leadership or for work that will further advance the industry.

The most prestigious and long-standing awards in the aerospace sector, the RAeS Medals are awarded for contributions to the advancement of aerospace art, science and engineering.

The University of Liverpool winners are:

Bronze Medal and Flight Simulation Medal

Professor Mark White, Head of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at the University of Liverpool was awarded both the Society’s Bronze Medal and the Flight Simulation Medal for his continued and sustained excellence in impactful flight simulation research and teaching with global reach.

 Alan Marsh Award

Dr Christopher Dadswell from the University of Liverpool’s Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering was awarded the Society’s Alan Marsh Award for contributions to the development of flight simulation fidelity activities for the Horizon European "Rotorcraft Certification by Simulation" project.

[caption id="attachment_116846" align="alignnone" width="585"] Dr Christopher Dadswell receives his award[/caption]

 Silver Award

Awarded to the University of Liverpool Emeritus Professor Gareth Padfield and former University of Liverpool Post-Doctoral Research Assistant Linghai Lu for their paper titled: ‘The potential impact of adverse aircraft-pilot couplings on the safety of tilt-rotor operations’

 Young Person’s Award

Awarded to former University of Liverpool PhD and Post-Doctorate Dr Wajih Memon for the paper titled ‘Helicopter Handling Qualities: A study in pilot control compensation’. Co-authored by Professor Mark White, Emeritus Professor Gareth Padfield and former University of Liverpool researcher Dr Neil Cameron.

Kerissa Khan MRAeS, President of the Royal Aeronautical Society said: The Royal Aeronautical Society Honours, Medals and Awards are the most prestigious and long-standing recognition of innovation and excellence in aerospace, aviation and space globally. The RAeS has been honouring pioneers of flight since Wilbur and Orville Wright the Society’s first Gold medal for completing the first successful powered heavier than air flight. This month, as we celebrate the 120th anniversary of this monumental achievement, we are especially proud to continue the annual tradition of honouring the most outstanding contributions from teams and individuals. The achievements of this year’s award winners showcase the ongoing ingenuity and commitment to excellence that exist across the breadth of  our global aerospace, aviation and space industries. We are incredibly pleased to congratulate them on their remarkable accomplishments and success”.