ESRC North West Social Science Doctoral Training Partnership (NWSSDTP)

The North West Social Science Doctoral Training Partnership is one of fourteen DTPs in the UK, created by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC). It replaces the previous North West Doctoral Training Centre, which funded studentships between 2011-2016.

The NWSSDTP comprises the Universities of Liverpool, Keele, Lancaster and Manchester and provides master’s and PhD students with access to funding and quality research training in social science disciplines.

Students will have access to research expertise across Keele, Liverpool, Manchester and Lancaster, allowing them to take advantage of a variety of study in social sciences, as well as in subjects where scientists are collaborating with colleagues from other disciplines such as medicine and the arts.

Funding for PhD programmes and master’s + PhD programmes is available at the University of Liverpool across the range of Social Sciences, which encompasses all three Faculties. The NWSSDTP welcome applications for part-time study across all the constituent pathways and institutions.

Funding is available at the University of Liverpool for the following subject pathways:

  • Accounting and Finance
  • Business and Management
  • Criminology, Social Policy and Social Work
  • Development and Humanitarianism in an Unequal World
  • Economic and Social History
  • Economics
  • Geography and Environment
  • Health and Wellbeing
  • Language Based Area Studies
  • Linguistics
  • Planning and Environment
  • Psychology
  • Social Anthropology
  • Social Statistics
  • Social Studies of Science, Technology and Medicine
  • Socio-legal Studies
  • Sociology

More information, including upcoming deadlines and the application paperwork, can be found on the ‘How to Apply’ webpage.

If you have any queries, please contact the NWSSDTP at