PGR-people-banner.

Contacts

In the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, there are multiple teams of people available to support you. 

PGR Structure 

The first point of contact for many PGR enquiries will be School PGR Administrators, or Departmental/Directors of Postgraduate Research. Find details of the Faculty PGR Structure and Contacts (Feb 2024).

Find your local School PGR team here

HSS Faculty PGR Team 

The Faculty PGR Team provides support for funding and training development opportunities for PGRs across the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences. Contact us at hsspgr@liverpool.ac.uk or find out who can help you below.

Dr Chris Egan

A person standing in front of a hedge

Faculty PGR Enhancement Officer 

Chris works closely with the Faculty’s director and deputy director of PGR, as well as other PGR leadership staff across the Faculty supporting PGR student recruitment, wellbeing, employability and data. 

  • Secretary to the Faculty PGR Committee 

Christopher.Egan@liverpool.ac.uk 

0044 (0) 151 794 1324 


Ms Nicola Rankin

A person standing outdoors

Faculty PGR Enhancement Coordinator 

Nicola works closely with Chris, and the Faculty’s director and deputy director of PGR. She works with PGR leadership staff to support PGR student wellbeing and employability. 

  • Minutes Secretary to the Faculty PGR Committee 

Nicola.Rankin@liverpool.ac.uk 


Mr Nathan Elsdon

A person standing outdoors

PGR Administrator (Digital Communications) 

Nathan is responsible for the communication of funding opportunities and events to PGR students in the Faculty. He creates the fortnightly PGR bulletin, manages the HSS PGR Twitter account (@LivUniHSS_PGR) and Instagram account (@uol.hss.pgr), and maintains the Faculty PGR Training Catalogue and the Faculty PGR LinkedIn page. 

nathan.elsdon@liverpool.ac.uk 

 0044 (0) 151 794 1324  


Ms Hayley Meloy

A person standing against an interior wall

Faculty Doctoral Training Officer and NWSSDTP Manager  

Hayley is responsible for managing the ESRC North West Social Science Doctoral Training Partnership (NWSSDTP) across its five constituent Universities (UCLan, Keele, Lancaster, Liverpool and Manchester) and also oversees the Faculty’s involvement in the AHRC North West Consortium Doctoral Training Partnership (NWCDTP). 

In addition to her work with the DTPs, Hayley provides strategic support to the engage@liverpool methodological initiative and coordinates doctoral training provision more broadly for PGRs in the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences. 

  • Secretary to the ESRC NWSSDTP Academic Management Committee and Strategy Board 
  • Member of the AHRC NWCDTP Academic Management Committee 
  • Secretary to the engage@liverpool Management Team Committee 
  • Member of the Methods North West Executive Committee 
  • Secretary to the Faculty Doctoral Training Steering Group 

hmeloy@liverpool.ac.uk 

0044 (0)151 794 1482  


Dr Julie McColl 

julie-4001

DTP Coordinator (Impact and Collaboration) 

Julie is responsible for supporting existing - and cultivating new - collaborative opportunities for ESRC NWSSDTP students across the four DTP institutions, working with staff, PGRs and non-HEI partners. Julie also oversees support for DTP students in terms of impact training and careers support. Julie is responsible for ensuring NWSSDTP policies and processes are up-to-date, coordinating the administration of both the annual ESRC NWSSDTP and AHRC NWCDTP studentship competitions, and is also responsible for communicating events and opportunities to ESRC-funded students across the North West via the NWSSDTP Newsletter. 

  • Minute Secretary to the ESRC NWSSDTP Academic Management Committee 
  • Minute Secretary to the ESRC NWSSDTP Strategy Board 
  • Secretary to the ESRC NWSSDTP TEKE Panel  

j.a.mccoll@liverpool.ac.uk 

0044 (0)151 794 3013  


Mrs Sarah Elsdon

A person standing against an interior wall

DTP Administrator 

Sarah is responsible for the administration of DTP student expense claims, additional funding competitions (i.e. Overseas Fieldwork, Internships and Overseas Institutional Visits) and NWSSDTP events. Sarah also provides administrative support for the annual ESRC NWSSDTP and AHRC NWCDTP studentship competitions, and helps maintain the NWSSDTP Twitter account (@NWSSDTP). 

  • Minute Secretary to the ESRC NWSSDTP TEKE Panel  

selsdon@liverpool.ac.uk 

0044 (0) 151 794 1324 


 

Other PGR Contacts  

 

Faculty Research and Impact Support Team 

Mrs Nicky Schofield 

Head of Research Development & Delivery 

nscho@liverpool.ac.uk  

Ms Maeva Zimmermann 

Research Development Officer 

zimmermann@liverpool.ac.uk

Dr Chris Williams 

Research Impact Officer 

cmw@liverpool.ac.uk  

Ms Cat Tully  

Research & Impact Coordinator 

tully@liverpool.ac.uk

Mr Nick Jones 

Digital Content Coordinator 

d.jones@liverpool.ac.uk

Ms Emma Arnold 

R&I Administrative Assistant 

arnold@liverpool.ac.uk

Dr Jacky Waldock 

Impact Fellow 

jwaldock@liverpool.ac.uk  

Dr Peta Bulmer 

Impact Fellow 

bulmer@liverpool.ac.uk

Faculty Postgraduate Research Contacts 

Dr Ross McGarry 

Faculty Director of PR 

S.R.Mcgarry@liverpool.ac.uk

Dr Firat Cengiz 

Deputy FDPR 

Cengiz@liverpool.ac.uk

School of the Arts 

Dr Yiota Vassilopoulou 

School Director of PR 

Vassilopoulou@liverpool.ac.uk

SotA PGR Admin 

 

pgarts@liv.ac.uk  

Prof Simon Hailwood 

Departmental Director of PR in Philosophy 

Hailwood@liverpool.ac.uk  

Dr Freya Jarman 

Departmental Director of PR in Music 

Jarman@liverpool.ac.uk

Dr Alyssa Grossman 

Departmental Director of PR in Communication & Media 

Grossman@liverpool.ac.uk

Dr Matthew Bradley 

Departmental Director of PR in English  

lina0738@liverpool.ac.uk

Prof Carl Hopkins 

Departmental Director of PR in Architecture 

Hopkins@liverpool.ac.uk

Management School 

Prof Nick Papageorgiadis 

School Director of PR 

Papageorgiadis@liverpool.ac.uk

ULMS PGR Admin 

 

msrenq@liv.ac.uk  

School of Law and Social Justice 

Dr Daniela Tepe-Belfrage 

School Co-Director of PR 

dtepe@liverpool.ac.uk 

Dr Andrew Kirton 

School Co-Director of PR 

kirt83@liverpool.ac.uk 

SLSJ PGR Admin  

 

slsjpgr@liv.ac.uk  

Dr Terence Heng 

Departmental Director of PR in Sociology, Social Policy and Criminology 

Heng@liverpool.ac.uk

Dr Rob Knox  

 

Departmental Director of PR in Law 

Knox@liverpool.ac.uk

Dr Matt Gibson 

Departmental Director of PR in Law 

J.R.Gibson@liverpool.ac.uk

School of Histories, Languages and Cultures 

Prof Frank Shovlin

School Director of PR 

Fshovlin@liverpool.ac.uk  

HLC PGR Admin 

 

HLC-PGR@liv.ac.uk  

Dr Samantha Caslin 

Departmental Director of PR in History 

scaslin@liverpool.ac.uk  

Dr Matthew Fitzjohn   

Departmental Director of PR in Archaeology, Classics and Egyptology 

mpf21@liverpool.ac.uk

Dr Mariaelisa Epifanio  

Departmental Director of PR in Politics 

Mariaelisa.epifanio@liverpool.ac.uk

Dr Niall Carson 

Departmental Director of PR in Irish Studies 

Carson@liverpool.ac.uk

Dr Mariam Aboelezz

Departmental Director of PR in Languages and Cultures and Film 

m.aboelezz@liverpool.ac.uk

 

Back to: Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences