Dental School Succeeds at Faculty Learning and Teaching awards

Published on

Dental School Succeeds at Faculty Learning and Teaching awards

The School of Dentistry is proud to announce the successes of its staff at the recent Faculty Learning and Teaching awards.

A team award was given to Manal Ablal, Kathryn Fox, James Hyde, Jonathan Marsden, Emad Moawad, Lorraine Molyneux, Claire Newey and Antonia Watson, for their excellent work in transforming operative skills teaching this academic year, with a project entitled “Personalised learning and coaching to improve student self-efficacy and confidence in pre-clinical operative dentistry”.


Laura Gartshore has also received an individual award for “Reform of the Academic Advising System in the School of Dentistry”.

Both Laura and the above team members have been invited to present their work as a submission for the Sir Alastair Pilkington Award for Teaching Excellence from the University.

Professor Vince Bissel, Dean at the School of Dentistry, had this to say:

“Nothing could indicate more clearly the outstanding work being done in the School; something we can all be very proud of. We will find an opportunity for the winners to present their work in the School in the near future.”

Congratulation to all award winners for their fantastic achievement!