Photo of Professor Andy Cooper

Professor Andy Cooper Ph.D.

Professor, Director of the Materials Innovation Factory Chemistry


    Personal Statement

    Andy Cooper is a Nottingham graduate (1991), obtaining his Ph.D there in 1994 for the study of organometallic reaction mechanisms at low temperatures and high pressures with Prof. Martyn Poliakoff. After his Ph.D, he held a 1851 Fellowship and a Royal Society NATO Fellowship at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA, working with Prof. Joseph M. DeSimone on polymerisation reactions and phase transfer processes in supercritical CO2 (1995–1997). He then held a Ramsay Memorial Research Fellowship at the Melville Laboratory for Polymer Synthesis in Cambridge, working with Prof. Andrew B. Holmes on polymerisation in supercritical CO2 (1997–1999). In 1998, he was awarded a Royal Society University Research Fellowship and joined Liverpool in January 1999, where he now holds a Personal Chair. His main research interests are polymeric materials, supercritical fluids, microporous materials, hydrogen storage, metal nanoparticles, organometallics, emulsion-templated materials, and high-throughput materials methodology. He is the founding Director of the Centre for Materials Discovery and the Materials Innovation Factory

    Prizes or Honours

    • 2010 Macro Group Medal (MacroGroup UK, 2012)
    • Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award (Royal Society, 2009)
    • 2009 Corday Morgan Prize (Royal Society of Chemistry, 2009)
    • McBain Medal (SCI /RSC, 2007)
    • Industrially-Sponsored Award in Environmentally Friendly Polymers (Royal Society of Chemistry, 2005)
    • MacroGroup Young Researchers Award (Macrogroup UK, 2002)
    • Gertrude Cropper Award (University of Nottingham, 1994)

    Funded Fellowships

    • Royal Society University Research Fellowship (Royal Society, 1999)
    • Ramsay Memorial Fellowship (The Ramsay Memorial Trust, 1997)
    • Non-Stipendiary Fellowship, Darwin College, Cambridge (Darwin College, Cambridge, 1996)
    • 1851 Research Fellowship (Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851, 1995)
    • NATO Fellowship (Royal Society, 1995)