University of Pretoria

The University of Pretoria is the largest residential university in South Africa, and also the country's leading research institute in terms of research output per annum since 1997 and, furthermore, produces the most PhD students (148 PhD students in 2006) in South Africa. According to the latest audited figures released by the Department of Education, the University of Pretoria is still the leading universities in South Africa. The University of Pretoria places great emphasis on collaborative research. During 2006, the greatest number of collaborations took place with institutions in the European Union (48%), followed by the USA (26%), Oceania (5%) and Southern African Development Community countries (4%).

The Department of Geography, Geoinformatics and Meteorology was established as a result of the amalgamation of older departments with defined disciplines in order to  meet new and challenging demands in disciplinary research and training in disciplines that seek solutions to earth's changing  environment. The Department holds a strong national and international position.

The University of Pretoria are involved in the following work packages:- WP1.1, WP1.3, WP2.1, WP3.1, WP4.1, WP6.1, WP6.3

Key People

Dr. Jane M Olwoch is a Senior Lecturer in Environmental Science. Over the last 7 years she has been involved in projects assessing climate change and vector–borne diseases in sub–Sahara Africa, including both ticks/tick–borne diseases and Malaria.

Prof. Hannes Rautenbach, Head of the Department of Geography, Geoinformatics and Meteorology & Acting Director of the University of Pretoria Water Institute. Has worked on high resolution atmospheric models for southern Africa and has a strong interest in climate impacts.