Work Experience at the University of Liverpool

The University is keen to offer work experience where possible, offering a diverse range of departments and types of activities that you can get involved in.

Please note: we cannot offer work experience to anyone under 14 years old. Also, due to health and safety reasons, some departments cannot provide work experience to anyone under 16 years old.

Who to Contact

If you are interested in finding a work experience placement with the University contact the department they are interested in directly.

The following is a list of the departments who regularly offer work experience.

Departmental Work Experience Co-ordinators

NameDepartmentEmail address

Thomas Eckl

Mathematical Sciences

thomas.eckl@liv.ac.uk

         

Student Welfare Advicce and Guidance

advice@liverpool.ac.uk

Debbie Trayer- Gregory

External Relations, Marketing and Comms

trayer@liverpool.ac.uk 

Irene Cooper

Central Teaching Laboratories, Faculty of Science & Engineering

cooper@liv.ac.uk

Chris Hunt

School of Environmental Sciences

scfc@liv.ac.uk

Cathy Owens

Liverpool Law School

cathy@liv.ac.uk

Carol Robinson

Continuing Education

carol@liv.ac.uk

Debbie Trayer-Gregory

Widening Participation and Outreach

d.a.trayer-gregory@liv.ac.uk

 

Veterinary Clinical Science

vetworkx@liverpool.ac.uk

Debbie Howarth

Institute of Infection and Global Health

dh1@liverpool.ac.uk

If the department you are interested in doing work experience is not listed above, please visit the Departments and Services page for a full list of University departments.

Please note that some of our academic departments may not be able to offer placements outside of term time. This is because the type of work being undertaken at that time may be different and it may be more difficult to offer a valuable placement. If in doubt please contact the department to find out the best time for a placement there.

How to Apply

Once you have identified a department or departments you are interested in complete the following Application for Work Experience form and send it together with a cover letter to the department directly.

We cannot guarantee that you will be offered a placement.

Further Information

For more information take a look at the list of FAQs.