Photo of Professor Sally Sheard

Professor Sally Sheard BA PhD

Executive Dean, Institute of Population Health & Andrew Geddes and John Rankin Professor of Modern History Institute of Population Health


Personal Statement

Sally Sheard is a health policy analyst and historian, with a research focus in the interface between expert advisers and policymakers. She is Executive Dean of the Institute of Population Health at the University of Liverpool, and a Wellcome Trust Senior Investigator, leading an eight year project (2015-2023): The Governance of Health: medical, economic and managerial expertise in Britain since 1948. Sally holds the Andrew Geddes and John Rankin Chair of Modern History.
Sally has authored books and articles on the political economy of health and social welfare, the development of the NHS and the medical civil service. She worked with Professor Sir Liam Donaldson (Chief Medical Officer, UK Department of Health 1999-2010) on a Nuffield Trust funded study, published as: S. Sheard and L. Donaldson, The Nation’s Doctor: the role of the Chief Medical Officer 1855-1998 (Oxford, 2006). In 2013 she published the first biography of Brian Abel-Smith - The Passionate Economist: how Brian Abel-Smith shaped global health and social welfare (Bristol, 2013).
Sally was founding Director in 2015 of the Centre for Humanities and Social Sciences of Health Medicine and Technology [CHSSoHMT]. She has extensive experience of using history in public and policy engagement, and serves as a senior associate for History and Policy: She works with local health authorities and government organisations providing historical context for contemporary health policy issues. She has written for and appeared in television and radio programmes, including Health Before the NHS, A House Through Time, Who Do You Think You Are?, How the Victorians Built Britain, and Woman's Hour. In 2018, to mark the seventieth anniversary of the NHS, she was commissioned to write and present the twenty part BBC Radio 4 series, National Health Stories:

Prizes or Honours

  • Visiting Scholar (2015)
  • Visiting Senior Fellow (2009)