Staff thanked at award ceremony

Published on


Staff across the University were thanked for their contribution at the Celebrating Success Awards Ceremony last night at the Crypt, Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral.

Hosted by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor, more than 250 staff attended the event where Roger Phillips, BBC Radio Merseyside Presenter and University of Liverpool honorary graduate revealed the winners.


The awards recognise, celebrate and promote excellence by academic, professional service and support staff across the university in the following categories:

Excelling at Innovation

Individual winner - Arthur Garnett, FM

Team winners - The Marketing Communications Team, SRAO: Emily Bell, Mike Claridge, Michelle Goulding, Laura Mallaber, Amy Phelps, Susan Shelbourne and Matt Smith.

Achieving Excellence

Individual winners - there were two winners in this category, Professor Laura Blackwood, School of Veterinary Science and Liz Crolley, ULMS

Team winners - The Central Teaching Laboratories Technical Staff: Ann Spencer, Stephen Chappell, Sandra Collins, Irene Cooper, Colin Downey, Joshua Hicks, Sabine Hiltscher, Alan Knowles and Christine Stalker.

Inspirational Leadership

Individual winner - Claire Brown, SRAO

Team winners - ASPIRE Industry Relationship Framework Project: Cecilia Barr, Strategic Planning, Lindsey Barry, Facilities Services, Jo Sharp, Directorate of Physiotherapy in the School of Health Sciences and Emma Thompson, Library.

Enhancing University Life

Individual winner - Lee Cooper, School of Dentistry

Team winners - Student Learning and Teaching Support Officers in the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences: Lynne Crook, Alexandra Lancaster and Dominic Ventre.

Civic Contribution

Individual winner - Kirsty Hall, Victoria Gallery & Museum

Team winners - The Outreach Team, Ageing and Chronic Disease: Dr Karl Bates, Nick Bryan, Dr Marina Anderson, Diane Ashton, Richard Barrett-Jolley, Chris Ford, Leif Hunter, Victoria Kearns, Rebecca Lewis, Ben McDermott, Caroline O'Leary and Dr Lucy Pickervance.

Outstanding Early Career Researcher

Dr Laurence Hardwick, Chemistry

Apprentice of the Year

Katherine Holland, Chemistry

The ceremony also saw long service staff who have worked for the University for 40 and 25 years honoured for their contribution, who together have accumulated over 1,700 years service.

Celebrating talent

[caption id="attachment_33179" align="alignnone" width="448"]???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? The award winners with the Deputy Vice-Chancellor[/caption]

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Patrick Hackett said: "We are privileged to have such talented, innovative and motivated staff who make all the difference to our students, our research partners and other stakeholders. Without the skills and commitment of all our staff – whether in academic, professional services or support roles – the university would not be able to achieve its research and teaching goals, nor would we be able to maintain the smooth running of our operations."

Award winners included Dr Laurence Hardwick as Early Career Researcher, who has been instrumental in securing research funding amounting to £4.3 million over the last two years and the Outreach Team from the Institute of Ageing and Chronic Disease who created a "Meet the Scientist" festival, attended by more than 1,500 visitors at the Liverpool World Museum.

Winner of the individual Inspirational Leadership, Claire Brown, commented: "I am delighted to receive the award and believe it is due in large part to the commitment of the Student Recruitment and Admissions team, who have worked so hard this year. I have the privilege of working with a great team of people and I’d like to thank them for their support."

[caption id="attachment_33180" align="alignnone" width="448"]?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? Those Commended with the Deputy Vice-Chancellor[/caption]

High calibre

Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Chair of the Selection Panel, Patrick Hackett, added: "I would like to congratulate everyone who has been nominated. The Selection Panel was overwhelmed by the numerous examples of exceptionally talented and committed staff who work hard to achieve the University’s ambitions. The calibre of entries was extremely high. Choosing the finalists was a difficult job and a nomination, in itself, is an achievement. "

The evening culminated in the Deputy Vice-Chancellor thanking staff for their contributions to making the University the place it is today.

[caption id="attachment_33191" align="alignnone" width="448"]????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? Members of staff who have achieved 40 years service with the Deputy Vice-Chancellor[/caption][caption id="attachment_33192" align="alignnone" width="448"]?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? Members of staff who have achieved 25 years service with the Deputy Vice-Chancellor[/caption]

CSA 2013