The Centre for Doctoral Training (CDT) is a multicentre team composed of seven universities - Liverpool, Bath, Sheffield, Loughborough, Southampton, Oxford and Cambridge - that will train highly-skilled students capable of transforming state-of-the-art research and development across the sustainable energy and PV sectors. This will in turn aid the country to achieve its renewable energy obligations, and will generate jobs in the technology sectors.

The funding for this CDT is part of an overall sum of £350m, invested by the Government and the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council, which represents the UK's largest investment in postgraduate training in engineering and physical sciences. Within this CDT, funding is coupled with industry support which will allow the centre's research outputs to have a direct impact on the skills and knowledge base of the energy sector. To date, the consortium of companies involved in the centre includes:

EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training in New & Sustainable Photovoltaics is funded by EPSRC.