Next Generation Poets 2014

In Association with the Poetry Book Society, the Centre for New and International Writing hosted a reading from two of the Society's 'Next Generation Poets 2014', Luke Kennard and Melissa Lee-Houghton, alongside Deryn Rees-Jones and Sean Hewitt.

Sean Hewitt


Sean Hewitt is completing his PhD at the Institute of Irish Studies, University of Liverpool, and also working on a pamphlet of poems. In 2015, he was announced as one of the Aldeburgh Eight. 

Melissa Lee-Houghton


Melissa Lee-Houghton has published two collections, A Body Made of You (2011) and Beautiful Girls (2014), which earned a Poetry Book Society Recommendation, alongside her place on the list of Next Generation Poets. 

Deryn Rees-Jones


Deryn Rees-Jones was among the Next Generation Poets 1994, and her debut collection, The Memory Tray, was shortlisted for the Forward Prize that same year. Since then she has published multiple volumes of poetry, including Burying the Wren (2012), which was shortlisted for the T.S. Eliot prize, as well writing critical texts, editing anthologies, and teaching at the University of Liverpool. 

Luke Kennard


Luke Kennard is the author of four poetry collections and two pamphlets, alongside various works of criticism and short fiction. His first collection, The Solex Brothers (2005) won the eric Gregory Award and established his reputation for often surreal narratives and exploring various forms and genre, including dramatic monologues and prose poetry. His second collection, The Harbour Beyond the Movie (2007) made him the youngest writer to be nominated for the Forward Prize for Best Collection. 

Ishion Hutchinson

Organising a literature event in Merseyside? Submit it to our Literature Events Guide.