Future Success Board

Committee description

Secretary: Michelle Keeley-Adamson, Email: M.Keeley@liverpool.ac.uk


The Future Success strand of the Student Success Framework addresses our institutional aim to ensure that ‘all students have space and opportunity to build their intellectual, social and cultural capital for the future’. Working in partnership with the Academic Success and Personal Success Boards to oversee delivery of the framework, the Future Success Board exists to govern the Future Success strand, by monitoring progress against key targets, evaluating the success of projects and interventions, and maximising the cumulative impact on key performance measures through university, school and departmental activity. It also will enable the identification of best practice, opportunities and gaps, and support the coordination of activity across Faculties, Schools, and Departments and university-wide services.


Terms of reference

a) To enhance the University of Liverpool’s capacity for enabling future student success through the scrutiny and monitoring of data, the development of key performance indicators, the evaluation of programmes and targeted work at all levels of the university to support future success.

b) To identify a set of Key Performance Indicators, both internally and externally regulated, as a means of measuring progress on future success

c) Develop an institutional understanding of both the regulatory measures of future success as well as any internal benchmarks.

d) To monitor institution-wide performance indicators and Faculty, School, and Department Level performance with regard to student outcomes and experience, with particular attention to inequalities in progression to highly skilled employment.

e) To advise and support initiatives which seek to address barrier to future success for priority groups of students, including, but not limited to, those identified within the APP.

f) Actively support and facilitate internal and external engagement, communications and consultation towards the achievement of a University-wide, single-team approach to employability, involving close partnerships between Faculties, Schools and Careers and Employability.

g) Provide specific advice, expertise and capabilities towards the development and implementation of objectives in employability and support the coordination of this activity with other University initiatives.

h) Coordinate sharing of practice on initiatives which enhance future success between Faculties, Schools, and Departments.

i) Contribute, filter and process intelligence in order to support the dissemination of best practice on student future success.

j) To advise on the development and use of data reporting to support the analysis of student future success measures.

k) To receive updates on progress of off-campus activities which support future success including; placements and internships, experience abroad, summer schools, and volunteering.

l) In the context of Curriculum 2021 to support the development and design of learning, teaching, and assessment approaches, to provide the best future outcomes and experience for all students.

m) To make recommendations to Education Committee on the future priorities for the university’s Education strategy.

Frequency of Meetings

The Future Success Board will meet quarterly


The quorum for meetings of the FSB shall be one quarter of the membership.


Reporting Relationships

Report To

Education Committee (formally)

Education Advisory Group (informally)

Receive Relevant Reports From

Careers and Employability

Student Intake Strategy Group

International Opportunities Group

Languages Strategy Group

Guild re volunteering

Members or key people

APVC Education with resp for Global (Chair)

Liz Sheffield

Head of Sustainability, Policy, and Civic Engagement


 Associate Pro-Vice Chancellor Education (ASB Chair)

 Lisa Anderson

Student Success Framework Project Officer

Ellie Roberts-Vick

Director of SEE (PSB Chair)

Paul Redmond

Director, Student Recruitment, Admissions & WP

Ian Roberts

Dir Careers and Employability (Deputy Chair)

Iwan Williams (/nominee)

Dir, Libraries Museums and Galleries

Matt Greenhall

Head of Study Abroad

Sarah Husain (/nominee)

Senior Educational Developer CIE

Nick Bunyan

x2 Guild Officers

Vasiliki Samuels (Guild President)




Dir Student Administration and Support

Paula Harrison

Associate Director of Alumni Engagement & Regular Giving

Anita Irving

Career Coach (nominee) - student


x2 alumni/ employers



Faculty representatives




Liz Sheffield (or nominee)

Francine Watkins

Diana Jeater

C&E Faculty Employability Business Partners




Iwan Williams

Darren Siggers

Paul Gratrick

6 School/department representatives:




Amy Gerrard



Claire Mallanaphy


S&E Physics

Graham Schleyer Engineering/

Valentina Tamma Comp Sci


S&E Maths

Ewan Russell


HLS  Life Sciences

 Dr Andy Bates


HLS – School of Dentistry

Dr Joanne Bowles


In Attendance

 Senior Programme Manager (Strategic Change)

 Dominic Ventre


Shirley Yearwood-Jackman


Meeting dates

  • 6 October 2022, 10.00 am
  • 24 February 2023, 10.00 am
  • 22 May 2023, 10.00 am
  • 6 July 2023, 10.00 am

A full schedule of Committee meeting dates can be viewed here.