Public Services and NHS

Locate your nearest NHS GP, dentist and optician and find out about Merseyside's metropolitan boroughs and services.

NHS Healthcare

Find your nearest NHS GP.

Find your nearest NHS dentist.

Find your nearest NHS optician.


Merseyside contains the metropolitan boroughs of Liverpool, Knowsley, Sefton, St Helens and Wirral. The metropolitan county council was abolished in 1986 and replaced by a joint board of the five metropolitan boroughs.

The services that are run by the joint board include the:

The individual councils are responsible for services such as:

  • rubbish collection
  • recycling
  • Council Tax collections
  • housing
  • planning applications

Councils on Merseyside

There are five councils within the Merseyside area:


Cheshire is a ceremonial county meaning there is no county-wide elected local authority, Cheshire has a Lord Lieutenant and High Sheriff for ceremonial purposes.

Local government functions apart from the Police and Fire/Rescue services are carried out by four smaller unitary authorities: Cheshire East, Cheshire West and Chester, Halton, and Warrington.

Policing and fire and rescue services are still provided across the County as a whole, but by unelected bodies. 

Councils in Cheshire

Back to: Working at Liverpool