PhD Projects

We have introduced this new tab to enable researchers in the North West to advertise any Pain Medicine related projects on our page and equally for projects in need of a PhD student.


We would also like to list PhD students who are interested in getting involved in these projects to enable researchers to have access to their contact details. Please see below the current PhD students we have listed

 

Name

Email Address

Project Title

Project Supervisor

Department

Emma Price

emma-price@live.co.uk

e.price@liverpool.ac.uk

Investigating the role of retrotransposons (mobile DNA elements) in chronic pain

Professor John Quinn

Department of Molecular and Clinical Pharmacology, Institute of Translational Medicine, University of Liverpool

Serena Sensi

Serena.sensi@liverpool.ac.uk

Assessment of DRG surface binding by CRPS-serum-IgG using primary mouse cells

Dr Andreas Goebel

Department of Molecular and Clinical Pharmacology, Institute of Translational Medicine, University of Liverpool

Selina Johnson

Selina.johnson@liverpool.ac.uk

low frequency peripheral nerve stimulation treatment for peripheral neuropathic pain

Dr Andreas Goebel

Department of Molecular and Clinical Pharmacology, Institute of Translational Medicine, University of Liverpool

Marie Shorrock

Marie.Shorrock@liverpool.ac.uk

Perceptual and associative learning of pain

Christopher Brown, Nick Fallon, Andrej Stancak

Psychological Sciences, University of Liverpool

Eleanor Brian

Eleanor.Brian@liverpool.ac.uk

Central nociceptive plasticity in chronic pain

Christopher Brown, Andrej Stancak

Psychological Sciences, University of Liverpool

Hanaa Alonezi

H.Alonezi@liverpool.ac.uk

Cerebral mechanisms of mindfulness for chronic pain

Christopher Brown, Nick Fallon

Psychological Sciences, University of Liverpool

Danielle Hewitt

d.hewitt@liverpool.ac.uk

Neural predictors of therapeutic success of spinal cord stimulation in neuropathic pain patients

Dr Andrej Stancak

Department of Psychological Sciences, University of Liverpool

Ailish Byrne

byrnea@edgehill.ac.uk

Towards a virtual reality treatment for chronic pain: establishing the foundation

Dr Stergios Makris

 

Edge Hill University Department of Psychology

Richard Berwick

rj@gmail.com

Autoimmune Phenotyping in Fibromyalgia

Dr Andreas Goebel

Department of Molecular and Clinical Pharmacology, Institute of Translational Medicine, University of Liverpool 

Adarsh Makdani

a.makdani@ljmu.ac.uk

Developing an opioid intervention for chronic non-cancer pain patients in primary care

Prof Francis McGlone Dr Susannah Walker Dr David Moore

Natural Science and Psychology, LJMU.

Emma Begley

e.k.begley@2017.ljmu.ac.uk

Developing an opioid intervention for chronic non-cancer pain patients in primary care.

Dr Cathy Montgomery, Dr Helen Poole, Prof Harry Sumnall, Dr Bernhard Frank

Natural Science and Psychology, LJMU.

Rebecca Horst-Atkinson

R.S.HortAtkinson@2012.ljmu.ac.uk

Chronic Pelvic Pain and Persistent Post-Surgical Pain: A Mindfulness-Based Intervention

 

Dr Peter Malinowski, Dr Helen Poole, Laura Mirams

Natural Science and Psychology, LJMU.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


If youre a student, or if you have a project you would like us to advertise then please contact hayley.mccullough@liverpool.ac.uk