University of Bari

Contact: Gaetano Scamarcio

University of Bari hosts more than 56000 students, about 2000 professors and offers a broad range of courses to its students. It has a central site in Bari with 11 campuses and 2 off-site branches in Taranto and Foggia, for a total of 15 Faculties and 63 Departments.

The Department of Physics promotes and coordinates teaching and research activities in the following areas: condensed matter physics; optoelectronic and quantum devices; laser physics; applied physics; theoretical and computational physics; particle physics; nuclear physics; planetary and space physics; teaching and history of physics. It scored top of the list in the last Italian university ranking.

The department hosts the CNR-INFM center “Laser Innovation Technology Transfer and Training (LIT3)”, the “Center for innovative technologies for image detection and processing (TIRES)”, and two clean-room facilities for the photolithographic fabrication and testing of semiconductor micro- and nanodevices. The Department comprises 70 faculty members and 40 technical and administrative staff members. It is used to closely collaborate with industry partners.


Physics Department