Jonathan Aasgaard (cello)

Open Circuit: Jonathan Aasgaard (cello)

1:15pm - 2:00pm / Wednesday 28th April 2021
Type: Music / Category: Department
  • Suitable for: All welcome
  • Admission: Free
  • Book now
  • Add this event to my calendar

    When you click on "Add this event to my calendar" your browser will download an ics file.

    Microsoft Outlook: Download the file, then you may be able to click on "Save & Close" to save it to your calendar. If that doesn't work go into Outlook, click on the File tab, then on Open, then Import. Select "Import an iCalendar (.ic or vCalendar file (.vcs)" then click on Next. Find the .ics file and click on OK.

    Google Calendar: download the file, then go into your calendar. On the right where it says "Other calendars" click on the arrow icon and then click on Import calendar. Click on Browse and select the .ics file, then click on Import.

    Apple Calendar: download the file, then you can either drag it to Calendar or import the file by going to File > Import > Import and choosing the .ics file.

Open Circuit: Jonathan Aasgaard (cello)
Wednesday 28 April

George Crumb Solo Sonata for solo cello
Ben Hackbarth Liquid Study no 3 for cello and realtime electronics (world premiere)
Benjamin Britten Suite no 1 for solo cello

Jonathan Aasgaard, principal cellist of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic and John Wilson Orchestras, performs solo cello repertoire that straddles both sides of the Atlantic. American composer George Crumb wrote his solo sonata in 1955 whilst still a student and the work is less experimental than his later compositions. Ben Hackbarth, Head of Composition at the University of Liverpool, studied composition with renowned American composer Roger Reynolds. Hackbarth’s Liquid Studies explore an imagined sonic physics based on the behaviour of fluids. Benjamin Britten’s Suite no. 1, premiered a decade after Crumb’s solo sonata, is the first of three suites modelled on Bach and dedicated to Mstislav Rostropovich.