Charity Law and Policy Unit Logo

CLPU Symposium: ‘Challenges in Non-Profit Law since the 1990s’

9:00am - 6:00pm / Tuesday 18th June 2024 / Venue: SLSJ Events Space, Ground Floor School of Law & Social Justice
Type: Symposium / Category: Department
Add this event to my calendar

Create a calendar file

Click on "Create a calendar file" and your browser will download a .ics file for this event.

Microsoft Outlook: Download the file, double-click it to open it in Outlook, then click on "Save & Close" to save it to your calendar. If that doesn't work go into Outlook, click on the File tab, then on Open & Export, then Open Calendar. Select your .ics file then click on "Save & Close".

Google Calendar: download the file, then go into your calendar. On the left where it says "Other calendars" click on the arrow icon and then click on Import calendar. Click on Browse and select the .ics file, then click on Import.

Apple Calendar: The file may open automatically with an option to save it to your calendar. If not, download the file, then you can either drag it to Calendar or import the file by going to File >Import > Import and choosing the .ics file.

The Charity Law and Policy Unit (CLPU) at the University of Liverpool is hosting an International Symposium on developments in non-profit law since the 1990s on 17th – 18th June 2024 at the University of Liverpool, UK. The Symposium is in honour of the retirement of the long-time Director of the CLPU, Debra Morris, Professor of Charity Law and Policy. Over thirty years of academic inquiry, Debra’s research has focused on many different aspects of charity law and regulation, ranging from the ‘public benefit’ test through to the impact of equality law on charities. The timeframe for topics for the Symposium papers reflects the length of Debra’s career in the field.

Confirmed Speakers:
Professor Warren Barr, University of Birmingham Professor
Oonagh Breen, Sutherland School of Law, University College Dublin
Professor Matthew Harding, University of Melbourne
Professor Ian Murray, University of Western Australia
Professor Adam Parachin, Osgoode Hall Law School, York University, Canada
Dr Alceste Santuari, University of Bologna
Dr Matthew Shillito, University of Liverpool
Dr John Picton, University of Manchester
Professor Mark Sidel, University of Wisconsin Madison
Dr Jennifer Sigafoos, University of Liverpool
Dr John Tribe, University of Liverpool
Dr Matthew Turnour, Neumann & Turnour Lawyers, Brisbane, Australia
Prof Debra Morris, University of Liverpool