Physics Pre-Graduation Event 2017

Published on

It was a day of celebration at the Physics Pre-Graduation Event as staff, students and families came together to celebrate the academic achievements of students studying on Physics programmes.  

Food and refreshments were provided by the student support office and family and friends provided positive feedback regarding the event.

There were a number of prize winners on the day who were presented with a certificate and prize in front of their peers, by Head of Department Professor Carsten Welsch.

A list of Physics Prize Winners included:

Connor Sait

Oliver Lodge Prize Best Performance in Physics at First Class Standard in Year 4.


Leanne Jones

Wynne Evans Prize Best student in Physics achieving First Class performance in Year 3 of a BSc with Honours programme.


Thomas Guest

Wilberforce Prize Awarded to the Physics student who performs best in Year 2.


Fraser Holloway

Francis Hudson Year 3 Prize – Best BSc Project by F350/F390 student.


Annie Dunn

Francis Hudson Year 1 Prize – Physics student who performs best in Year 1.


Roisin McAleer

HWB Skinner Prize – Best BSc Project.


Harry Lyons

HWB Skinner Prize – Best MPHYS Project.


Samuel Lange

Martin Suggett Prize – Awarded to the best 1st year F521 or F3F5 student.


Harry Akitt

John Porter Prize – Awarded to the most improved 2nd year F521 or F3F5 student.


Liam Barber

William Lassell Prize – Awarded for the best Physics with Astronomy BSc, F3F5.


Thomas Sedgwick

Isaac Roberts Prize – Awarded for the best Astrophysics MPHYS F521


Dr Alexandra Alexandrova

Physics PhD Prize – Best PhD Thesis


We would like to wish all our current and finishing students the best of luck in their future endeavours.