IOP Award – Professor Susan Smith

Published on

ASTeC Director & Head of Daresbury Laboratory, Professor Susan Smith. © STFC [2017]
ASTeC Director & Head of Daresbury Laboratory, Professor Susan Smith. © STFC [2017]

We are delighted to announce the award of the 2020 IOP Particle Accelerator and Beams Group Prize for Outstanding Professional Contribution to Susan Smith of STFC Daresbury Laboratory, who holds an honorary Professorship in the Liverpool physics department.

The award citation is for Professor Smith’s major contributions, innovation and leadership in accelerator and light source science, including in operations and upgrades of the SRS at Daresbury Laboratory, in leading the accelerator design for the Diamond facility at RAL, and leading the construction of the ERL ALICE, EMMA and CLARA facilities at Daresbury.

In the last decade Susan has simultaneously been the Director of ASTeC, one of the Cockcroft Institute’s key stakeholders, and Head of Daresbury Laboratory, roles which recognise her exceptional scientific expertise and managerial abilities.

In accepting the award, Professor Smith said "I am truly honoured to receive this award. Having spent the whole of my working career in accelerator science I am very pleased for my contribution to the field to be recognised by the group through this prestigious prize. In the 1980s, I could count the number of women in the accelerator field in this country on one finger, I hope being honoured through this award will give confidence and motivation to the many women who are entering this field in the 2020s.”