The Duncan Society logo

The Duncan Medal

Duncan Medal Awards arose during 1997 when Professor John Ashton awarded some at the Faculty of Public Health Medicine Conference Dinner.

Medals went to past and current Presidents of the Faculty and to local professionals and politicians who had played an important role in the contemporary public health movement in the City of Liverpool.

Since the Duncan Society was launched it has awarded the Duncan Memorial Medal to over 80 individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the public health and well- being of the community. Past recipients have included former Liverpool Councillors Mrs Margaret Simey and Mr John Hamilton, Rev. Dr Patricia Nickson of the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, and the NHS health centres pioneer, General Practitioner Dr Cyril Taylor.