Photo of Prof Yi Huang

Prof Yi Huang PhD

Professor Electrical Engineering and Electronics


    Personal Statement

    Prof Yi Huang received BSc in Physics (Wuhan, China), MSc (Eng) in Microwave Engineering (Nanjing, China), and DPhil in Communications from the University of Oxford, UK in 1994. He has been conducting research in the areas of radio communications, applied electromagnetics, radar and antennas since 1987. His experience includes 3 years spent with NRIET (China) as a Radar Engineer and various periods with the Universities of Birmingham, Oxford, and Essex as a member of research staff. He worked as a Research Fellow at British Telecom Labs in 1994, and then joined the Department of Electrical Engineering & Electronics, the University of Liverpool as a Lecturer in 1995, where he is now a Chair in Wireless Engineering, Deputy Head of Department, Head of High-Frequency Engineering Research Group and MSc Programme Director.

    Dr Huang has published over 300 refereed papers in leading international journals and conference proceedings, and authored books on Antennas: from Theory to Practice (John Wiley, 2008) and Reverberation Chambers (Wiley 2016). He has received many research grants from research councils, government agencies, charity, EU and industry, acted as a consultant to various companies, and served on a number of national and international technical committees (such as the IET, EPSRC, European ACE, COST-IC0603 and COST-IC1102 and EurAAP) and been an Editor, Associate Editor or Guest Editor of four of international journals. He has been a keynote/invited speaker and organiser of many conferences and workshops (e.g. IEEE iWAT, WiCom and LAPC). He is at present the Editor-in-Chief of Wireless Engineering and Technology (ISSN 2152-2294/2152-2308), Associate Editor of IEEE Antennas and Wireless Propagation Letters, College member of EPSRC, UK/Ireland Delegate to EurAAP, a Senior Member of IEEE and a Fellow of IEE/IET.

    Personal Distinctions

    • IEEE iWAT 2011 (Invitation to Speak, IEEE 2011)
    • Keynote speech at the 6th IEEE WiCOM 2010 (Keynote Speech, IEEE 2010)
    • Invited talk (Invitation to Speak, Hosei Univ 2010)
    • Invited talk (Invitation to Speak, Univ of Arizona 2010)
    • Invited talk (Invitation to Speak, Stanford Univ 2010)
    • Invited talk (Invitation to Speak, UCLA 2010)
    • Invited talk (Invitation to Speak, Bredford Univ 2010)
    • Invited talk (Invitation to Speak, Chiba Univ 2010)
    • Invited speaker on EMC measurements at Tshinghua University (Invitation to Speak, Tshinghua University 2009)
    • Invited talk on Modern Antennas (Invitation to Speak, Manchester University 2009)
    • Invited speaker on "THz antennas” at China-UK/Europe Workshop on Millimetre Waves and THz Tech (Invitation to Speak, The Royal Society 2008)
    • Invited speaker on “Challenges and Opportunities on EMC Measurements”, (Invitation to Speak, the National Key Lab on EM Environments and EM Protection. Shijiazhuan, China 2007)
    • Invited speaker on “Time domain measurements” (Invitation to Speak, EuCAP 2006)
    • Invited Speaker on “Effects of coating on antennas” (Invitation to Speak, MIICS 2006)
    • Invited Speaker on UWB antennas (Invitation to Speak, Ansoft 2006)
    • Invited speaker on recent development on antennas (Keynote Speech, IEEE 2005)
    • Visiting Prof (Wuhan University 2005)

    Administrative Roles

    • Deputy Head of Department
    • MSc course Director

    Untitled Document