Musculoskeletal Biology I

Head of Department

Comerford, Prof Eithne Head of Department  0151 794 6568 Eithne.Comerford@liverpool.ac.uk 
Dougherty, Mrs Linda PA to Head of Department  0151 794 9019 Linda.Dougherty@liverpool.ac.uk 

Professors

Bou-Gharios, Prof George Professor  0151 794 9061 G.Bou-Gharios@liverpool.ac.uk 
Clegg, Prof Peter Professor  0151 794 6077 P.D.Clegg@liverpool.ac.uk 
Gallagher, Prof James Professor  0151 794 9063 J.A.Gallagher@liverpool.ac.uk 
German, Prof Alex Professor  Ajgerman@liverpool.ac.uk 
Moots, Prof Robert Professor & Head of Rheumatology Research Group  0151 529 5889 R.J.Moots@liverpool.ac.uk 
Van 'T Hof, Prof Rob Professor  0151 794 9067 R.Vanthof@liverpool.ac.uk 

Senior Lecturers

Anderson, Dr Marina Senior Lecturer  0151 529 5915 Marina.Anderson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Daroszewska, Dr Anna Senior Clinical Lecturer  0151 794 9058 A.Daroszewska@liverpool.ac.uk 
Goodson, Dr Nick Senior Lecturer  0151 529 5925 Nicola.Goodson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Laird, Dr Elizabeth Senior Lecturer  0151 794 6026 Elizabeth.Laird@liverpool.ac.uk 
Maddox, Dr Tom Senior Lecturer   0151 795 6226 Thomas.Maddox@liverpool.ac.uk 
Milner, Dr Peter Senior Lecturer  0151 794 9040 P.I.Milner@liverpool.ac.uk 
Peffers, Dr Mandy Senior Lecturer  0151 795 6006 M.J.Peffers@liverpool.ac.uk 
Tew, Dr Simon Senior Lecturer  0151 794 9029 Simon.Tew@liverpool.ac.uk 
Walmsley, Dr Gemma Senior Lecturer   0151 794 9309 Gemma.Walmsley@liverpool.ac.uk 

Lecturers

Henstock, Dr James Tenure Track Fellow  0151 794 9164 J.R.Henstock@liverpool.ac.uk 
Oldershaw, Dr Rachel Tenure Track Fellow  0151 794 6111 Rachel.Oldershaw@liverpool.ac.uk 
Poulet, Dr Blandine Tenure Track Fellow  0151 794 9074 B.Poulet@liverpool.ac.uk 

Researchers

Ashraf Kharaz, Mrs Yalda Postdoctoral Research Associate  0151 795 6006 Y.Ashraf-Kharaz@liverpool.ac.uk 
Chapman, Dr Elinor Postdoctoral Research Associate  0151 794 9281 Elinor.Chapman@liverpool.ac.uk 
Cross, Dr Andy Research Associate  0151 529 5933 Across@liverpool.ac.uk 
Dillon, Ms Jane Research Associate  0151 794 9064 Dillon@liverpool.ac.uk 
Liu, Dr Ke Research Associate  0151 794 9065 Ke.Liu2@liverpool.ac.uk 
McDermott, Dr Ben Research Associate  0151 794 9287 B.T.Mcdermott@liverpool.ac.uk 
Sutherland, Dr Hazel Research Associate  0151 794 9062 H.Sutherland@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wilson, Dr Peter Research Assistant  0151 794 9066 P.Wilson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wright, Dr Helen Arthritis Research UK Career Development Fellow  0151 795 4457 Hlwright@liverpool.ac.uk 
Yamamoto, Dr Kazuhiro Research Fellow  Kazuhiro.Yamamoto@liverpool.ac.uk 
Zamboulis, Miss Danae Postdoctoral Research Associate  D.E.Zamboulis@liverpool.ac.uk 

Technical Staff

Dyer, Mr Philip Research Technician  P.Dyer@liverpool.ac.uk 
Eyre, Miss Kelly Veterinary Nurse (Assessment of Ageing in Cats)  Kelly.Eyre@liverpool.ac.uk 
Prior, Miss Amanda Research Technician  0151 794 9135 A.Prior@liverpool.ac.uk 
Woods, Mrs Georgiana Royal Canin Weight Management Clinic Nurse  0151 795 6203 G.Woods@liverpool.ac.uk 

Associate Members

Dukes McEwan, Prof Jo Senior Lecturer / Clinician in Veterinary Cardiology  0151 795 6245 J.Dukes-Mcewan@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hodgkiss-Geere, Dr Hannah   H.Hodgkiss-Geere@liverpool.ac.uk 
Killick, Dr David   David.Killick@liverpool.ac.uk 
McConnell, Mr Fraser Senior Lecturer in Veterinary Diagnostic Imaging  0151 795 6218 Fraser.Mcconnell@liverpool.ac.uk 
McGowan, Prof Cathy Associate Member  0151 794 6152 C.M.Mcgowan@liverpool.ac.uk 
Pettitt, Mr Rob   R.A.Pettitt@liverpool.ac.uk 
Rubio Martinez, Dr Luis   0151 794 6041 Luis.Rubio-Martinez@liverpool.ac.uk 

Post Graduate Students

Alawadhi, Mrs Eman PhD Student  E.Alawadhi@liverpool.ac.uk 
Alkharabsheh, Mr Sahem PhD Student  S.Alkharabsheh@liverpool.ac.uk 
Anderson, Mr James PhD Student  James.Anderson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Balaskas, Mr Panagiotis PhD Student  P.Balaskas@liverpool.ac.uk 
Barrow, Miss Megan PhD Student  Megan.Barrow@liverpool.ac.uk 
Carslake, Mr Harry PhD Student  0151 795 6166 H.B.Carslake@liverpool.ac.uk 
Davison, Mr Andrew PhD Student  Andrew.Davison@liverpool.ac.uk 
de Sousa Brito, Miss Francesca Manuela PhD Student  F.De-Sousa-Brito@liverpool.ac.uk 
Dowgray, Ms Nathalie PhD Student  N.Dowgray@liverpool.ac.uk 
Duffield, Mr Stephen PhD Student  Stephen.Duffield@liverpool.ac.uk 
Eagle, Mr Mark PhD Student  Mark.Eagle@liverpool.ac.uk 
Frost, Miss Stephanie Postgraduate Student  Stephanie.Frost@liverpool.ac.uk 
Gumbs, Miss Jade PhD Student  0151 795 6006 J.Gumbs@liverpool.ac.uk 
Harley, Miss Sarah PhD Student  Sarah.Harley@liverpool.ac.uk 
Horwell, Miss Amy PhD Student  A.Horwell@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hughes, Mr Andrew PhD Student  Andrew.Hughes@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hughes, Miss Juliette PhD Student  J.H.Hughes@liverpool.ac.uk 
Janvier, Mr Adam PhD Student  A.Janvier@liverpool.ac.uk 
Johnson, Miss Emily PhD Student  E.J.Johnson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Johnson, Miss Kirsty PhD Student  Kirsty.Johnson@liverpool.ac.uk 
Khedr, Dr Milad PhD Student  M.Khedr@liverpool.ac.uk 
Lee, Miss Katie PhD Student  0151 795 6006 Katie.Lee@liverpool.ac.uk 
Lewis, Miss Niamh PhD Student  N.Lewis@liverpool.ac.uk 
Lim, Miss Jacqueline Siew Yeen PhD Student  J.Lim7@liverpool.ac.uk 
Lipreri, Dr Giulia PhD Student  G.Lipreri@liverpool.ac.uk 
Malalana Martinez, Mr Fernando PhD Student  F.Malalana@liverpool.ac.uk 
Morgan, Miss Rhiannon PhD Student   
Norman, Mr Brendan PhD Student  Brendan.Norman@liverpool.ac.uk 
O'Loughlin, Miss Danielle PhD Student  Danielle.O-Loughlin@liverpool.ac.uk 
Ramos, Mr Lorenzo PhD Student  Lorenzo.Ramos@liverpool.ac.uk 
Rothwell, Mr Paul   Paul.Rothwell@liverpool.ac.uk 
Schnauffer, Ms Karen PhD Student  K.Schnauffer@liverpool.ac.uk 
Scotto di Mase, Mr Michele PhD Student  M.Scotto-Di-Mase@liverpool.ac.uk 
Smagul, Mr Aibek PhD Student  A.Smagul@liverpool.ac.uk 
Srivastava, Dr Samir PhD Student  Samir.Srivastava@liverpool.ac.uk 
Taylor, Miss Leah PhD Student  L.F.Taylor@liverpool.ac.uk 
Viles, Mr B PhD Student   
Tatum, Mrs Rebecca PhD Student  Rebecca.Walker@liverpool.ac.uk 
Zaripova, Ms Lina PhD Student  L.Zaripova@liverpool.ac.uk 
Zhan, Mr Dong PhD Student  Dong.Zhan@liverpool.ac.uk 
Zimmer, Mr Christoph PhD Student  C.Zimmer@liverpool.ac.uk 

Honorary staff

Arshad, Dr Farath Honorary Research Fellow  F.Arshad@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hinrichs, Katrin Honorary Research Fellow   
Mcnicholas, Dr Michael Honorary Senior Lecturer  M.J.Mcnicholas@liverpool.ac.uk 
Sparks, Dr Christopher Honorary Research Fellow (Clinical)  Christopher.Sparks@liverpool.ac.uk 
Zhao, Dr Sizheng Honorary Research Assistant (Clinical)  S.Zhao8@liverpool.ac.uk 

Musculoskeletal Biology II

Head of Department

Kemp, Prof Graham Interim Head of Department  0151 794 9493 G.J.Kemp@liverpool.ac.uk 
Smith, Ms Brenda PA to Head of Department  0151 794 9003 Smith@liverpool.ac.uk 

Professors

Cooper, Prof Bob Professor of Experimental Medicine (Muscle & Rheumatology)  0151 794 9133 Robert.Cooper@liverpool.ac.uk 
Griffiths, Em P Richard Professor of Medicine (Intensive Care)  Rdg@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jackson, Prof Malcolm Professor  0151 794 9081 M.J.Jackson@liverpool.ac.uk 
McArdle, Prof Anne Professor  0151 794 9059 Mdcr02@liverpool.ac.uk 

Readers

Barrett-Jolley, Dr Richard Reader  0151 794 9089 Rbj@liverpool.ac.uk 
Cuthbertson, Dr Dan Reader  0151 529 5911 Daniel.Cuthbertson@liverpool.ac.uk 
De Magalhaes, Dr Joao Pedro Reader  0151 795 4517 Aging@liverpool.ac.uk 
Rhodes, Dr Nick Reader  0151 794 9088 Npr@liverpool.ac.uk 

Senior Lecturers

Gunther, Dr Michael Senior Lecturer  0151 794 9083 Michaelg@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hannan, Dr Fadil Senior Clinical Lecturer  Fadil.Hannan@liverpool.ac.uk 
Jeffery, Dr Nathan Senior Lecturer  0151 794 9086 Njeffery@liverpool.ac.uk 
Welters, Dr Ingeborg Senior Clinical Lecturer  I.Welters@liverpool.ac.uk 
Whysall, Dr Kasia Senior Lecturer  0151 794 9076 K.Whysall@liverpool.ac.uk 

Lecturers

Barraclough, Dr Dong Lecturer  0151 794 9073 Dong.Barraclough@liverpool.ac.uk 
Bates, Dr Karl Lecturer   0151 794 9075 K.T.Bates@liverpool.ac.uk 
D'Aout, Dr Kris Lecturer   0151 794 9077 Kristiaan.Daout@liverpool.ac.uk 
Iwanejko, Dr Lesley Lecturer  0151 794 9078 Iwanejko@liverpool.ac.uk 
Pekovic-Vaughan, Dr Vanja Lecturer   0151 794 9093 Vanja.Pekovic-Vaughan@liverpool.ac.uk 
Vasilaki, Dr Aphrodite Lecturer  0151 794 9069 Vasilaki@liverpool.ac.uk 

Researchers

Brown, Dr Emily Clinical Research Fellow  C.E.Brown@liverpool.ac.uk 
Fawcett, Dr Sandra Postdoctoral Research Associate  Fawcett@liverpool.ac.uk 
Gardiner, Dr James Postdoctoral Research Associate  J.D.Gardiner@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hackett, Miss Angela Research Assistant  A.P.Hackett@liverpool.ac.uk 
McCormick, Miss Rachel Postdoctoral Research Associate  0151 794 9152 R.Mccormick@liverpool.ac.uk 
New, Mr Paul Research Assistant  0151 794 9256 Paul.New@liverpool.ac.uk 
O'Brien, Dr Fiona Postdoctoral Research Associate  Fiona.O-Brien@liverpool.ac.uk 
Olesen, Miss Mie Marie Curie Early Stage Research Associate  M.K.Olesen@liverpool.ac.uk 
Pollock, Dr Natalie Postdoctoral Research Associate  0151 794 9085 N.Pollock@liverpool.ac.uk 
Sprung, Dr Tori Postdoctoral Research Associate  0151 529 5936 Victoria.Sprung@liverpool.ac.uk 
Staunton, Miss Caroline Postdoctoral Research Associate  0151 794 9153 C.Staunton@liverpool.ac.uk 
Stretton, Dr Clare Postdoctoral Research Associate  C.Stretton@liverpool.ac.uk 
Taylor, Miss Nia Research Assistant  0151 794 9087 Nia.Taylor@liverpool.ac.uk 

Technical Staff

Carter, Dr Alan Research Technician  0151 794 9057 Alan.Carter@liverpool.ac.uk 

Post Graduate Students

Abdul Kadir, Miss Lina PhD Student  L.Abdul-Kadir@liverpool.ac.uk 
Alkahtani, Ms Miral PhD Student  M.M.Alkahtani@liverpool.ac.uk 
Allen, Ms Alexandra PhD Student  Alexandra.Allen@liverpool.ac.uk 
Ashwin, Miss Helen PhD Student  H.Ashwin@liverpool.ac.uk 
Bardell, Mr David PhD Student  David.Bardell2@liverpool.ac.uk 
Bennett, Mr Dominic PhD Student  Dominic.Bennett@liverpool.ac.uk 
Bin Rahmat Sam, Mr Mohd Fuad PhD Student  Mohd.Fuad.Rahmat-Sam@liverpool.ac.uk 
Boonarpha, Mr Nattapon PhD Student  N.Boonarpha@liverpool.ac.uk 
Bowden Davies, Miss Kelly PhD Student  K.Bowden-Davies@liverpool.ac.uk 
Chinda, Mrs Caroline PhD Student  C.Chinda@liverpool.ac.uk 
Collins, Mr David PhD Student  David.Collins@liverpool.ac.uk 
Cotton, Miss Caroline PhD Student  C.Cotton@liverpool.ac.uk 
Curtis, Mr Rory PhD Student  R.Curtis@liverpool.ac.uk 
Davison, Mr Andrew PhD Student  Andrew.Davison@liverpool.ac.uk 
Dawood, Mrs Nihad PhD Student  N.H.Dawood@liverpool.ac.uk 
Dera, Mr Ayed PhD Student  Ayed.Dera@liverpool.ac.uk 
de Sousa Brito, Miss Francesca Manuela PhD Student  F.De-Sousa-Brito@liverpool.ac.uk 
Edogbanya, Mr Unekwu-Ojo Jacob PhD Student  U.Edogbanya@liverpool.ac.uk 
Giakoumaki, Ms Ifigeneia PhD Student  I.Giakoumaki@liverpool.ac.uk 
Goh, Ms Colleen PhD Student  Colleen.Goh@liverpool.ac.uk 
Haidar, Mr Omar PhD Student  O.Haidar@liverpool.ac.uk 
Horton, Miss Niamh PhD Student  N.Horton@liverpool.ac.uk 
Humphreys, Mr Craig PhD Student  C.J.Humphreys@liverpool.ac.uk 
Hussein, Dr Ahmed PhD Student  Ahmed.Hussein@liverpool.ac.uk 
Janvier, Mr A PhD Student   
Kumar, Dr Amrita PhD Student  Amrita.Kumar@liverpool.ac.uk 
Lewandowski, Mr William PhD Student   
Lyne, Miss Rosemary PhD Student  Rosemary.Lyne@liverpool.ac.uk 
Macaulay, Miss Sophie PhD Student  S.A.Macaulay@liverpool.ac.uk 
Mandourah, Mr Abdullah PhD Student  A.Y.Mandourah@liverpool.ac.uk 
Manson, Miss Amy PhD Student   
Marek, Mr Ryan PhD Student  Ryan.Marek@liverpool.ac.uk 
Monaco, Mr Gianni PhD Student  Gianni.Monaco@liverpool.ac.uk 
Norman, Miss Juliette PhD Student  J.A.Norman@liverpool.ac.uk 
Nye, Mr Gareth PhD Student  G.A.Nye@liverpool.ac.uk 
Olesen, Miss Mie Kronborg PhD Student  M.Olesen@liverpool.ac.uk 
Olesen, Miss Mie PhD Student  M.K.Olesen@liverpool.ac.uk 
Owen, Mr Euan PhD Student  E.D.Owen@liverpool.ac.uk 
Penrose, Mrs Fay PhD Student   
Peters, Miss Abby PhD Student  Abby.Peters@liverpool.ac.uk 
Richards, Mr Ian PhD Student  Ian.Richards@liverpool.ac.uk 
Rogers, Miss Eve PhD Student  Eve.Rogers@liverpool.ac.uk 
Roskell, Miss Clare PhD Student  C.A.Roskell@liverpool.ac.uk 
Scalabrin, Mr Mattia PhD Student  Mattia.Scalabrin@liverpool.ac.uk 
Scotto di Mase, Mr Michele PhD Student  M.Scotto-Di-Mase@liverpool.ac.uk 
Shigdar, Mr Shah PhD Student  S.M.Shigdar@liverpool.ac.uk 
Silvestri, Dr Luciano PhD Student  Luciano.Silvestri@liverpool.ac.uk 
Soriano Arroquia, Ms Ana PhD Student  A.I.Soriano-Arroquia@liverpool.ac.uk 
Thomas, Mr Neil PhD Student  N.Thomas@liverpool.ac.uk 
Vickerton, Miss Paula PhD Student  0151 794 5486 P.Vickerton@liverpool.ac.uk 
Webster, Miss Emma PhD Student  E.L.Webster@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wei, Mr Z PhD Student   
West, Mr Malcolm PhD Student  Malcolm.West@liverpool.ac.uk 
Wu, Mr Xiangyu PhD Student  Xiangyu.Wu@xjtlu.edu.cn 
Zhu, Miss Jingjing PhD Student  Jingjing.Zhu@liverpool.ac.uk 

Honorary Staff

Winder, Dr Isabelle Honorary Research Associate  Isabelle.Winder@liverpool.ac.uk 
Blanchard, Dr Mary Honorary Research Fellow   
Ranganath, Dr L Honorary Professor   
Saithna, Mr Adnan Honorary Senior Lecturer  Adnan.Saithna@liverpool.ac.uk 
Sharma, Dr A Hon Clinical Senior Lecturer   
Wibberley, Dr Anna Honorary Fellow   

Associate Members

O'Neill, Dr Francis   F.Oneill@liverpool.ac.uk 
Pickavance, Dr Lucy   Lucyp@liverpool.ac.uk