Councils and Services


Merseyside contains the metropolitan boroughs of Liverpool, Knowsley, Sefton, St Helens and Wirral. The metropolitan county council was abolished in 1986 and replaced by a joint board of the five metropolitan boroughs.

The services that are run by the joint board include the:

The individual councils are responsible for services such as:

  • rubbish collection
  • recycling
  • Council Tax collections
  • housing
  • planning applications

List of Councils on Merseyside

There are 5 councils within the Merseyside area:


Cheshire is a ceremonial county meaning there is no county-wide elected local authority, Cheshire has a Lord Lieutenant and High Sheriff for ceremonial purposes.

Local government functions apart from the Police and Fire/Rescue services are carried out by four smaller unitary authorities: Cheshire East, Cheshire West and Chester, Halton, and Warrington.

Policing and fire and rescue services are still provided across the County as a whole, but by unelected bodies. 

List of Councils in Cheshire