The Campus

100 Acres of Inspiration

From humble beginnings in 1881, the University campus has evolved dramatically and now stretches across 100 acres.

Situated in the Knowledge Quarter of Liverpool, the University campus is a vibrant place, with its beautiful listed buildings, green spaces, ultra-modern institutes, teaching laboratories and residences.

The University buildings form a secure, compact neighbourhood, with the city centre just a 5 minute walk away.

Split into three sections, North Campus, Central Campus and South Campus, the campus is home to three faculties, fourteen Schools/Institutes and eleven Professional Services Departments.

The University also has a presence in Wirral, across the river Mersey, with a major veterinary research & teaching centre at Leahurst, and Ness Botanic Gardens which was donated to the University of Liverpool in 1948 by Lois Bulley. 

self-guided campus tour MP3 podcast, used in conjunction with the Campus Map, is available to download for those visiting the campus.

Campus Investment

The University is planning to invest £600million in its facilities as part of its commitment to providing a world-class student experience and research environment.

Some recent developments include the £45m Vine Court Eco-Residences and the £22m eco friendly heating and power plant; along with the currently under-construction £50m Crown Place Residences, to be completed in 2014.

Campus Accessibility

The University is committed to promoting a positive attitude to disabled people and to creating the conditions in which all students and staff can participate fully in University life.

Our Disabled Go pages provide a guide for students, staff and visitors enabling you to plan for visits, study and work to take account of the layout of our campus and existing facilities around the campus.